1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

2.1 sucks

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by roymayor, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. roymayor

    roymayor Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    ok so i upgraded my phone to 2.1 and now it sucks. it takes 40 seconds after i pushed call for my phone to finally start calling. it really sucks. just moving around the menus is very very slow. text msg are very very slow now. everything on my phone just got slower! i want to go back to 1.5 is that possible? i am very tempted to just throw my phone on the floor!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Reflash the RUU and if that doesn't work take it back to sprint. Sprint can reflash it for you just take it up there for them to look at.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  3. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,081
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,081
    78
    128
    Take a look over here and maybe you'll change your mind
     
  4. DLM

    DLM Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    137
    2
    56
    NY
    exactly the same problem, I was just telling my friend who brought his 2 new iphones, one in white and one in black (yea I know, white isn't available yet, it is for him ;)), to a concert with me. No problems for him and I showed him how slow mine is and he said, "we'd never sell a product like that" I think this phone is a failure, sorry to say. Porting to verizon and a droid Tuesday, can't take this anymore
     
  5. revtime

    revtime Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    173
    7
    36
    Hmm I have 2 Heros one on 1.5 and mine on 2.1. We have been very happy with them. My room mate is just fine with 1.5 and has no reason to upgrade. I am extremely happy with 2.1 on my Hero. So much so that I decided to wait and not get an Evo.
    Everything works better on my Hero with 2.1.
    Sorry your having issues.
     
  6. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    451
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Actually, it rocks! :p
     
  7. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    I thought the .6 update helped fix the dial out lag? At least, that's what someone mentioned on another thread or forum (I have no actual idea since my ROM is based of the .5 version)
     
  8. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    I love my hero.. I wouldn't give it up for anything besides the EVO lol
     
  9. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    The people who report that patch fixing anything are just under the placebo effect, just looking for any little difference and exaggerating about it.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
    Jimbo670 likes this.
  10. Jimbo670

    Jimbo670 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    49
    1
    16
    My hero is also a ZERO. The lag has lag. Ok I feel better.

    Has anyone had luck getting a new phone from sprint. I hate to say it but I am about to jump ship. :eek: It is crap that there seems to be no support for a phone that is not even a year old.
     
  11. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Uninstall your taskiller, that's when mine resuscitated itself.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  12. EgeBamyasi

    EgeBamyasi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    131
    0
    55
    Video OnDeamnd Coordinator
    Wisconsin
    You don't have to uninstall it. Just turn it off. It's still good to keep it on your phone just in case. At least that's what I did with ATK and it made a difference.
     
  13. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Delete the "task killer" and download system panel, it shows how much cpu each app/process is actually using so you know what and when, if ever, you actually need to kill something.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
    EgeBamyasi likes this.
  14. EgeBamyasi

    EgeBamyasi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    131
    0
    55
    Video OnDeamnd Coordinator
    Wisconsin
    Can you do this with the Lite version?
     
  15. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    nope...sorry... once you updated it changed the boot image and even running the 1.56 RUU won't work... If you take it to Sprint and IF they exchange it.. it'll be with another 2.1 Hero.. Root that sucker and get a ROM that runs smoother.. like Fresh or DC or ZenExp or well.. just about any of the 2.1 custom ROMs for the Hero.
     
  16. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    @Egebamyasi

    Yes.

    Sent from my HERO200 using Tapatalk
     
  17. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    337
    5
    36
    unemployed
    The Triangle, North Carolina
    this is very good advice... don't give up yet. its not the best android phone out there, but the ROMs that have been made significantly improve your likelihood to enjoy your phone. it's really like getting a whole new device, especially coming from where you're at now. good luck.
     
  18. EgeBamyasi

    EgeBamyasi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    131
    0
    55
    Video OnDeamnd Coordinator
    Wisconsin
    Done and did it. Thanks for the head's up.

    Pretty much the same quickness as having ATK installed and having it off. So I still think the ATK is fine installed as long as you know how to turn it off and only use when needed (i.e, don't turn it on unless you want to kill something - then turn it off again)

    Having said that, I prefer System Panel - more details - less simplicity which some may not like, but that detail certainly lets you know what's going.
     
  19. edivens

    edivens Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    85
    0
    15
    I was having the same problem with the lag. I wanted to through my phone on the floor more then once. I downloaded the 2.1 upgrade from sprint again and now my phone is working fine.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...