1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 2.1 update for USA

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by joemonkey, Nov 6, 2010.

  1. joemonkey

    joemonkey Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    385
    12
    38
    Seattle, WA
    I just checked software update and it tells me 2.1 is now available for upgrade. however, from the sonyericsson site i have to download PCcompanion and do the upgrade via PC.

    so, my questions..
    1. i can not upgrade OTA?
    2. i am a Mac user, i must do the upgrade from a PC?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mxtc

    Mxtc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    103
    9
    36
    Web Developer
    USA
    Hey Joe!

    I'm in US too..

    Answer to # 1: (PC Companion won't do the upgrade, and it won't update over the air)

    Answer to # 2: PC only
    What you have to do is go back to the sony ericsson website and look for the new "Sony Ericsson Update Service" (SEUS) program (FOR PC only, no Mac version - ask a friend who has a PC).

    Then, after you follow the instructions, it should take about 30 minutes, but your phone will have a major upgrade.

    (backup first because you'll loose everything)
     
  3. ChudleyOne

    ChudleyOne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    113
    11
    38
    Glendale, AZ
    1) No OTA. You're upgrading the operating system of the phone. It needs to be fed the info from a pc & can't run the airwaves while updating.
    2) So far, all 2.1 updates are required to be from a PC. Thought I saw a reason for it on either SE board or XDA board but I can't recall why. Something in the coding I'd wager.
     
  4. joemonkey

    joemonkey Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    385
    12
    38
    Seattle, WA
    @Mxtc,

    thanks.

    SE site says download the PCcompanion and do the upgrade accordingly as suggested in this youtude video
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hB72oeqtCC4

    what is the different between PCcompanion and SEUS??
     
  5. joemonkey

    joemonkey Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    385
    12
    38
    Seattle, WA
    @Mxtc,
    am i correct in assuming you have successfully upgrade to 2.1 using SEUS? i have downloaded SEUS and i will give it a try once i get a clarification from you, or anyone, why PCcompanion will not work?

    i have window parallel running XP on my Mac OSX. i run PCcompanion, it asks me to connect the x10 to USB cable, click on 'mount'. however PCcompanion still shows 'no phone connected'

    what's the deal???
     
  6. Alexp08

    Alexp08 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    197
    3
    36
    AT&T sales rep
    what network are you running on?
     
  7. joemonkey

    joemonkey Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    385
    12
    38
    Seattle, WA
    i have t-mobile. network has nothing to do with PCcompanion nor SEUS.
     
  8. Koyanishi

    Koyanishi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    64
    7
    16
    Worked for me.

    When you connected the phone then mounted it, you should have seen a prompt in the xp window to connect usb either to mac side or windows side.

    If you did not, you can go to the parallels menu bar and click on device menu and then usb menu and configure there to connect usb to windows.

    Cheers
     
    joemonkey likes this.
  9. Mxtc

    Mxtc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    103
    9
    36
    Web Developer
    USA
    For me PC companion always said " your phone is up to date" even when the phone says that there is an update available, so I had to use the update program instead.

    Same tmobile usa. X10i updated to 2.1 on Nov 2
     
    joemonkey likes this.
  10. Mxtc

    Mxtc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    103
    9
    36
    Web Developer
    USA
    And another warning, once u download the update, you will have to wait a while before the phone boots back up again.
     
  11. highaltitude

    highaltitude Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010

    Oct 11, 2010
    241
    11
    38
    so Im assuming according the service you have will dictate if the update is available? I have AT&T and it says I have the most current update. I guess its promising though if its at least in the US, even though its a different carrier.
     
  12. joemonkey

    joemonkey Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    385
    12
    38
    Seattle, WA
    @Koyanishi
    thanks for the info. in fact, my USB preference in window parallel was set to 'ask me' but i must have missed that window hiding behind others. so i changed the preference temporarily to 'connect to virtual machine' for now.

    @Mxtc
    thanks you again. you are absolutely correct. i tried using PCcompanion but it did not find any update, but SEUS works fine. i am restoring my backup as we speak.

    * Note: anyone in the United States, at least in the West Coast, update is now available. have fun!!!
     
  13. mlm122

    mlm122 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    40
    7
    16
    USA
    * Note: anyone in the United States, at least in the West Coast, update is now available. have fun!!![/QUOTE]

    @joemonkey, is your phone unbranded? I ask because I was wondering if it was a particular carrier that had rolled out 2.1 on the west coast. I am in the US, running generic firmware and have not been prompted for the update yet.

    Thanks!
     
  14. joemonkey

    joemonkey Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    385
    12
    38
    Seattle, WA
    @joemonkey, is your phone unbranded? I ask because I was wondering if it was a particular carrier that had rolled out 2.1 on the west coast. I am in the US, running generic firmware and have not been prompted for the update yet.

    Thanks![/QUOTE]

    yes, my phone is unbranded. you can still run SEUS and see if it allows you to update.
     
  15. highaltitude

    highaltitude Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010

    Oct 11, 2010
    241
    11
    38
    Anyone else end update with the US version or just this one person?
     
  16. Mxtc

    Mxtc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    103
    9
    36
    Web Developer
    USA
    I dont know if the at&t version is out. They should be rolling it out soon. I read all carriers will be updated by the 19th.
     
  17. iggyhop9

    iggyhop9 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I'm in Savannah, GA. I have an X10i unbranded running on the T-Mobile network. When I search OTA, it says I'm up to date. When I run PC companion, it says the same thing...help?
     
  18. chuckgee

    chuckgee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    3
    0
    25
    i just got my xperia x10 about 5 days ago in in los angeles california with ATT carrier im wondering the 2.1 update is about to release or released will i be the last, and how do the notify me through :)
     
  19. highaltitude

    highaltitude Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010

    Oct 11, 2010
    241
    11
    38
    So far it seems to me that if you physically look for the update with SEUS people are having better luck rather than waiting for the notice from SE.
     
  20. harrypalmero

    harrypalmero Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    22
    3
    16
    Palm Springs, CA
    I flashed 2.1 Global on my x10a from AT&T and have not had a single problem. When I booted up, everything set up automatically. Everything works, wifi, 3G/H, messaging, etc.
    I highly recommend any US x10a users tired of waiting for AT&T to release the update to head over to XDA and take care of business. I'm not worried about the warranty issue, and other than my phone displaying a 0 in front of the time, and x10i under phone info, everything runs flawlessly. It's like having a new phone. Everything runs a lot smoother, proximity sensor finally works, no more cheek hang ups. Camera is FAST and sharp. None of the AT&T bloatware. What are you waiting for?
     
  21. webmatic

    webmatic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Can you please post the link of XDA thread with instructions you followed...Thanks
     
  22. harrypalmero

    harrypalmero Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    22
    3
    16
    Palm Springs, CA
    ^ Sure, here's the link.

    You only need four things to make this work-
    1.- Flash tool
    2.- Global 2.1 Firmware
    3.- Drivers
    4.- SEUS- Sony Ericsson Update Service

    The first two come as a package you can download from the first post on the above link. I had some trouble with finding the drivers but I followed the instructions on the Sideload Wonder Manager which involved downloading SDK Android Development Tools. It's a big download, and I'll never use it but it was the only way I could properly install the drivers. You'll need SEUS to connect your phone in order to find the device id number that you'll need to flash 2.1. Plenty of resources over on XDA and I guarantee if you run into a problem, someone else on that board has had the same problem and with a little searching, you'll find the solution. It took me all of 10 minutes to flash 2.1 and I couldn't be happier. It's your phone, set it free....
     
  23. gunny5821

    gunny5821 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    501
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    501
    29
    68
    USMC Retired/Disabled
    Richmond, VA (USA)
    So just to clarify, the AT&T version of 2.1 for the x10a, is NOT available at this time. Am I correct??? Also, someone above noted that all of the carriers are suppose to be updated with 2.1 by Nov 19th. Is this also correct??

    I had tried to do the update, but since I am not rooted nor debranded, it stated my OS is current. I take it that in order to get the update, one must be rooted and debranded to get the 2.1 update today (in the US on AT&T that is).

    So, has anyone with AT&T service, rooted and debranded and updated 2.1 today? If so, is everything worked; such as , well Everything, LOL! Also, if you are rooted and debranded and updated to 2.1 today, did you need to do anyother tweaking to get your phone to work, or was it good to go as soon as the 2.1 OS was installed?

    Waiting for replies and THANKS!
     
  24. joemonkey

    joemonkey Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    385
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    385
    12
    38
    Seattle, WA
    hello, i have an unbranded x10 in seattle, washington. PCcompanion did not work, but i was unable to update using SEUS. when i go to --> settings --> about phone --> software update, it tells me 2.1 is available. so i updated it using SEUS just a few days ago
     
  25. Madmax56

    Madmax56 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    87
    15
    18
    Langley, BC
    You said you were 'unable' to update using SEUS. Do you mean you were 'able' to update using SEUS? Just checking.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...