1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 2.1 Update is here

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kersey, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. Gentle Jesus

    Gentle Jesus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    England, Nottingham
    ok i think im doing it now :D

    think i forgot to add the to the path in my computer properties part :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. Gentle Jesus

    Gentle Jesus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    England, Nottingham
    how do i know when the nordic flash is done ?
     
  3. tracer2009

    tracer2009 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    it will tell you. it filled the screen with reading/processing messages, then eventually stopped. then said finished
     
  4. Gentle Jesus

    Gentle Jesus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    England, Nottingham
    ahh yea it just took a while :D
     
  5. Gentle Jesus

    Gentle Jesus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    England, Nottingham
    Time to update to 2.1 woooppp :D:D
     
  6. tracer2009

    tracer2009 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    yeah i thought exactly the same thing. have now updated and got a camera icon on screen so i guess i've got 2.1
     
  7. Gentle Jesus

    Gentle Jesus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    England, Nottingham
    grats :D

    im getting exited :D
     
  8. tracer2009

    tracer2009 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    very cool so far
     
  9. CPlumb

    CPlumb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    Question here - I have an x10a, and I am aware of the rumour that if you cross-flash you cannot receive further updates. However, that must not include the 2.1 update? (or else what would be the point?) ...and if I cross-flash, can and how would I go about reflashing to x10a Rogers? Thanks!
     
  10. Gurba

    Gurba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    352
    14
    38
    Male
    Norway
    My X10i is original Nordic (Norwegian), no-brand but I can't update. Already got newest FW. Sucks. :(
     
  11. Gentle Jesus

    Gentle Jesus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    England, Nottingham
    ok just updated to 2.1 and all my apps are gone is that normal ?
     
  12. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,655
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,655
    229
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    Yes, it does tell you to back up everything before you run the update
     
  13. Gentle Jesus

    Gentle Jesus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    England, Nottingham
    yea i did back up and i just restored but all my apps are still gone lol :(
     
  14. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,655
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,655
    229
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    I guess you're f*cked then
     
  15. Gentle Jesus

    Gentle Jesus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    41
    1
    16
    England, Nottingham
    yep pretty much :(:(:(

    i have app brain ill just get them all back from there :D
     
  16. tracer2009

    tracer2009 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    29
    2
    16
    i went for deleting all user settings etc. only things i backed up were bookmarks and contacts. now starting to get programs installed again, nice to have a clear out actually and just install what i need, swype, esfile explorer and advanced task killer being the main ones ( oh ok and yes angry birds too :p )

    good performance, was sluggish for the first 5-10 mintues, now its veeeery quick. had a quick go with camera , seems much better for indoor pics which was always a gripe of mine with the x10, plenty more playing yet though.
     
  17. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,655
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,655
    229
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    I use titanium backup, it backs up all apps + the app settings too, so i don't need to re-adjust my settings. But I'll have to wait for a 2.1 root (if the devs can do it on 2.1) to be able to restore everything on 2.1 :(
     
  18. Gurba

    Gurba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    352
    14
    38
    Male
    Norway
    Tried to re-install 1.6 but I still can't get 2.1 after that. Any suggestions? As mentioned my X10i is nordic originally.
     
  19. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,655
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,655
    229
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    Well Rikard has announced that all norwic phone updates have been sent out. Is your phone branded?
     
  20. Gurba

    Gurba Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    352
    14
    38
    Male
    Norway
    Ok. No. My phone is generic R2BA026. I get newest fw is already installed no matter what I try.
     
  21. Scottpeterbell

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    scotland
    hey folks can someone tell me how to get the 2.1 update cause i connected it through the sony ericsson updater and it says i have the latest software
     
  22. CuBz

    CuBz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,655
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    1,655
    229
    163
    Website Programmer
    UK
    What country are you in and are you branded or unbranded

    Turn your phone off, take the battery out for 30 seconds, then replace, switch it on and try again using SUES (not PC companion)
     
  23. Scottpeterbell

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    49
    0
    15
    scotland
    in scotland and what do you mean branded or unbranded sorry if thats a dat question
     
  24. MrWomble

    MrWomble Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    774
    51
    78
    Newcastle - UK
    Either rebrand to nordic firmware as described in another post or wait till its available in your country - its only northern/north western europe at the minute - scandanavian/nordic countries
     
  25. Craiggers

    Craiggers Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    Northern Ireland
    Hi all

    My x10i is not rooted and had no intention of doing it either because i look at it this way, if sony wanted it rooted it would of came that way as standard But, Im damn tempted to do it just to get 2.1 using that nordic change. But however, i want to know changing it to nordic version will it make my phone any different in any way.. i.e. im in the uk and on o2 so will this make any difference?

    any risks i want to know!!! lol

    Craig
     

Share This Page

Loading...