1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 2.1 update - Phone will not unlock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TrebolSUD, Mar 5, 2010.

  1. TrebolSUD

    TrebolSUD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I installed the 2.1 update twice yesterday, once on my phone, once on my the wifes. My phone is working perfectly, her is asking for a password to unlock.

    My question is what the password for my wifes phone is when I didn't set a password up for her. I set our phones up the same way, but hers requires a password. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

    Shawn
    "The lurker for more than two months"
     

    Advertisement

  2. NKT

    NKT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,571
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    1,571
    3,009
    313
    Did you set up and Exchange email account?
     
  3. TrebolSUD

    TrebolSUD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I have an exchange account on both phones. Could that be the password?
     
  4. NKT

    NKT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,571
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    1,571
    3,009
    313
    It sounds like the Exchange server pushed a security policy to the phones. Not sure what the password may be. You can try your Exchange password but it's usually a pin that you have to set up.
     
  5. TrebolSUD

    TrebolSUD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Thankyou for the response, NKT, your are correct about it being an exchange security.

    The next obvious question is how to turn this off without deleting her work account? Is it possible?
     
  6. NKT

    NKT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,571
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    1,571
    3,009
    313
    Probably not. It's a corporate security requirement.

    That's the reason I stopped using Wireless Sync. It was VERY annoying to have to put the pin in every time.
     
  7. TrebolSUD

    TrebolSUD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Rats! I appreciate the replies. The account has been deleted. Thanks again
     
  8. Eris Lover

    Eris Lover Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010

    Jan 20, 2010
    289
    16
    58
    New Mexico
    So.....just curious. Did deleting that account unlock your phone?
     
  9. TrebolSUD

    TrebolSUD Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Using the exchange pin unlocked the phone. Once unlocked, deleting the 3xchange account has kept the phone from requiring a password to unlock the phone henceforth.
     
  10. blackbrolly

    blackbrolly Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    Above the Canal
    I had the same problem. Thanks for clearing that up! I need my Exchange server. Is there a way around it. I wish i could set the exchange password for whenever i just need to check my work mail....
     
  11. wilceaux

    wilceaux Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    70
    9
    16
    Austin, TX
    The only other option, I believe, would be to set up your work email through IMAP.
    This would work fine just for your email, but you wouldn't be able to sync your calendar and contacts, as far as I can tell.
     
  12. NKT

    NKT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,571
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    1,571
    3,009
    313
    The only way is to talk to your Exchange admin. But I doubt they'll make an exception since it's a security risk. If there's corporate info on your phone they don't want it easily accessible.
     

Share This Page

Loading...