1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root 2.2 and CPU Temperature Sensor

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nstallion, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    In any of the new 2.2 ROMs is there any way to get TempMonitor and/or SetCPU to read from the CPU temperature sensor yet?

    Flash tends to make the phone pretty warm and I'd really like to know how hot the CPU is getting. A failsafe profile in SetCPU is essentially useless if it can't read the CPU temp sensor.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    The TempMoniter CPU reading comes from the kernel... I know that P3Droid is aware of the issue with his kernels as is Jdlfg... I haven't heard that it is fixed yet though... There is a file they have to add and they are having problems with it...
     
  3. ballisticn8

    ballisticn8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    761
    158
    113
    Male
    Data Analyst
    Phoenix, AZ
    watching for this update very closely, i too have noticed how warm my droid gets and have been quite anxious to see a fix...
     
  4. flyguide83

    flyguide83 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    Also watching this...
     
  5. Arcolog2

    Arcolog2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    Subscribed!!

    Navigation on the windshield in Georgia gets HOT! gotta watch it!
     
  6. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
  7. djg08642

    djg08642 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    20
    1
    16
    Financial Services Officer
    Raleigh, NC
    I'm pretty sure my SetCPU is reading my temperature correctly and displaying it in the widget... I've got the first version of 2.2 with the 800mhz overclock and Wifi kernel. It's usually around a steady 89 degrees and after watching an episode of The Office, it's now at a balmy 122 degrees. Speaking of which... (and not to hijack the thread) At what point is the phone in danger of getting fried? The back of my phone could fry an egg right now.
     
  8. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    that is the battery temp you are seeing. no one has been able to get a kernel to read the cpu temp as of yet. the only way i know to see the cpu temp in 2.2 is to use system panel from the market.
     
    djg08642 likes this.
  9. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
    System panel isn't reading the CPU sensor either. verified earlier this week. its dual reporting the battery temp.
     
  10. Jbuch84

    Jbuch84 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    41
    2
    16
  11. iflysiu

    iflysiu Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    11
    0
    15

    Have you tried the new ones yet? How well do they work compared to p3s? I like to stick with them but I really want the cpu temp readout.
     
  12. MSUgEEk

    MSUgEEk Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,696
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    3,696
    1,418
    313
    Electrical Design Engineer
    Northwestern Alabama
    They run fine but didn't fix the reporting cpu temp issue for me.

    Scratch that. 1.25 doesn't work for me. Going lower.
     
  13. tom108

    tom108 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    then why is it reporting a temperature that is 15 degrees different?
     
  14. Jbuch84

    Jbuch84 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    41
    2
    16
    I personal have found that they work better on my droid than p3s kernel, and I'm using system panel to read my cpu temp...didn't show in setcpu. I also was unstable at 1.25 but run just fine on the ulv 1.2
     
  15. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    System panel is reporting the same temp for CPU and battery on my Droid (P3Droid 1GHz LV kernel) - are we sure it reports CPU temp accurately on all Froyo kernels?
     
  16. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    I turns out that SystemPanel doesn't read CPU temp at all -- it reads logged battery temp and the AK8973 Temperature Sensor real-time battery temp.
     
  17. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    Bump. Was curious if there were any developments on this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...