1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 2.2 is out

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by shawnshack, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. shawnshack

    shawnshack Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    27
    2
    16

    Advertisement

    LaTuFu likes this.
  2. LaTuFu

    LaTuFu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,286
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    1,286
    258
    173
    Project Manager
    Virginia
    I know what I'm doing tonight...waiting for CG's review of 2.2!
     
  3. Zebulon

    Zebulon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    I'm sure it will mostly be about how they will never release 2.3.
     
  4. LaTuFu

    LaTuFu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,286
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    1,286
    258
    173
    Project Manager
    Virginia
    Debbie Downer! :D
     
  5. Bloomy6

    Bloomy6 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #412
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011

    Jan 9, 2011
    166
    23
    38
    Just upgraded.
     
  6. bikerpadre

    bikerpadre Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hertford, NC
    I just updated last night. Generally happy with the changes.

    The first thing I have noticed to be missing is the option to keep the screen 'active' while charging.

    Is this option no longer available or have I not looked in the right place?

    Thank you.

    Kip
     
  7. Zebulon

    Zebulon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Will we be able to have our phones upgraded at the stores? The Kies drivers don't look to be properly compatible with Windows 7 64-bit.
     
  8. dixie_boysles

    dixie_boysles Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    65
    4
    16
    What about the Wireless Modem that our phones came with? I dont get charged to use it and I dont want to lose it. Also when I upgrade, do i lose all my apps
     
  9. LaTuFu

    LaTuFu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,286
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    1,286
    258
    173
    Project Manager
    Virginia
    You will not "lose" all of your apps, but they will get wiped off the phone. Your google account that you used to activate the phone will keep a record of all of the apps you downloaded. You will have to reinstall some, if not all of them, after the update. You won't have to re-purchase any that you paid for.

    Follow the steps, the first and most important one is back everything up before you start.

    For additional peace of mind, you can download AppBrain Appmarket and sync all of your apps to that before updating.

    You can also download backup utilities that will help. Unfortunately, I only know of the ones that require root access. There are others that do not require root.
     
  10. Zebulon

    Zebulon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Make sure you back up your phone info and apps. Otherwise everything gets deleted when you install the new firmware, and you have to start from scratch. I downloaded the trial of "My Backup" from the market.
     
  11. dixie_boysles

    dixie_boysles Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    65
    4
    16
    Just updated it, lets see how it goes.

    All my apps are still there btw after the update. even my homescreen pic stayed the same
     
  12. Zebulon

    Zebulon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Yeah, I upgraded mine as well. I don't see a big difference in performance or abilities, though.
     
  13. Tonitz

    Tonitz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010

    Nov 26, 2010
    36
    7
    36
    Chicago
    OK stupid question, but how do I backup all my contacts to my Google account. They are all saved to my phone and I don't want to lose them when I update (and I just want to know how in general).
     
  14. woodard2589

    woodard2589 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011

    Mar 12, 2011
    13
    3
    16
    hmm, kind of disappointed with speed improvements. using quadrant it benchmarked exactly the same as with 2.1 instead of the huge difference that normally happens. i rerooted mine and did the lagfix again and it benchmarks at 1600 to 1800 where it did a 2100 with 2.1. nice to be able to use 2.2 apps again though
     
  15. LaTuFu

    LaTuFu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,286
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    1,286
    258
    173
    Project Manager
    Virginia
    Go to contacts, hit the menu button and then "import/export". Select Export to SD card and you're all set.

    You can then import that file into your Google account if you like, or just wait until after the update, and if you lose the contacts you simply reverse these steps and import from the SD card.
     
  16. Tonitz

    Tonitz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010

    Nov 26, 2010
    36
    7
    36
    Chicago
    I attempted to update but something went wrong. I completed the update process with Kies mini, verified on Kies screen that the update was complete, My phone restarts, I see the US cellular visual, Galaxy S, and then nothing. The buttons are lit up and it occasionally vibrates on its own.

    On the Kies screen it says "The mobile phone is locked. To connect, use the mouse to enter pattern as specified by the mobile phone." Only problem is, I'm not able to get the display for my phone to turn on. Help!
     
    Maizeret likes this.
  17. woodard2589

    woodard2589 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011

    Mar 12, 2011
    13
    3
    16
    So 2.2 on here its def different than my droid, some nice extra features, much easier to select text to edit a single letter. Textile feedback also vibrates weaker, weird at first, but kinda nicer, feels smoother
     
  18. Country_Gravy

    Country_Gravy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    52
    8
    16
    Good work, guys...Now we need to work on them for 2.3!
     
  19. dfl2m

    dfl2m Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    upgraded to 2.2, now my touchscreen occasionally locks up.
     
  20. Bloomy6

    Bloomy6 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #412
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011

    Jan 9, 2011
    166
    23
    38
    Update went smooth. Didn't loose any apps and as someone stated earlier, my background was also still there after completed.
     
  21. Bigbadbikernerd

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Tech consultant
    Iow
    Does the wireless tether still work even if you aren't on a tethering plan, or did they eliminate that "feature"?:thinking:
     
  22. dixie_boysles

    dixie_boysles Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    65
    4
    16
    no that feature is still there.

    I have two issues and I dk how to fix them.

    1) When in pictur gallery and i long pause to check multiple pictures to delete. When I choose the pics and hit delete, a "deleting" box pops up like its processing, but it wont go away, i have to end up pulling battery.

    2) In browser, when in landscape, if i click on a text box, the little text box that usually pops up to show you what you are typing does NOT show up. it seemed like it did when i first did the update. but i dont know how to fix that issue
     
  23. biohazard_isu

    biohazard_isu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Lames, IA

    Me too. I'm guessing I did something wrong...
     
  24. biohazard_isu

    biohazard_isu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Lames, IA
    Not sure what happened. Had to get to the recovery console and then return it to factory defaults. Now I'm recovering all my all my data and apps. Should be a productive weekend.
     
  25. Zebulon

    Zebulon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    370
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    To get past the unlock phone screen, click and drag on the security pad ON THE COMPUTER. Enter your security pattern, and it will turn red, like you entered it wrong. Click ok. That should do it for you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...