1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

2.2 keyboard

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Johnboy501, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. Johnboy501

    Johnboy501 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    51
    0
    15
    Chester UK
    Am not liking the new keyboard on 2.2. I use the standard phone one (123) and the symbols have been moved to the second screen. And there is no button to close the keyboard either. Not impressed!!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Go here:

    http://www.gimpsta.com/themer/

    Select Hi Res Kitchen, Create an account and you can create the HTC IME Mod keyboard, to the colours youlike. There are options where you can return the close keyboard settings.

    You need to create a V27 Froyo.

    This was posted on here by someone else, can't remember who, bit I have a custom keyboard and its great.

    Once installed, on a text field, long press and change input method.

    Here's mine...

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Johnboy501

    Johnboy501 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    51
    0
    15
    Chester UK
    Says content not supported, no application can be found to open file. Does it need to be a rooted handset???
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Nope, it generates an apk file which you download using barcode scanner.
     
  5. Rainbow Snake

    Rainbow Snake Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    43
    0
    15
    Glad someone else is finally acknowledging this stuff up! I've been complaining about it on this forum for a while now, to apparent silence.

    There are many apps which are now almost useless since you can't hide the screen. It's a major bug.

    (I called it a keypad tho)
     
  6. jeremy_inc

    jeremy_inc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    152
    16
    38
    London, UK
    Can't you just push the back key to hide the keyboard?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...