1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

2.2 slow icon refresh

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mattbooty, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. mattbooty

    mattbooty Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    On Froyo, is anyone else seeing an issue where exiting an application or in any way returning to the home screen sometimes it takes 5+ seconds before the icons appear? Mine will just show a blank home screen for a while and eventually my icons appear and the phone is useable again.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. zandroid

    zandroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009

    Oct 2, 2009
    323
    3
    36
    Student
    Los Angeles
    Mine does this as well.
     
  3. smacky

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,844
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    2,844
    299
    163
    Same here. I dunno if you're running a rooted ROM or the OTA, but I had this issue and so I ended up downloading the deodexed one in the root section and it seems to OK now. I haven't reset my phone in a day and a half, otherwise, that was the way to fix it..temporarily..for me.

    Now it seems to ok after doing a factory reset and clearing all types of caches.
     
  4. nader2013

    nader2013 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    342
    21
    38
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Mine too, so frustrating. Even switching to landscape does this.
     
  5. jacwashere7

    jacwashere7 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    83
    0
    15
    PA
    same exact issue here , any known fixes or causes ?
     
  6. Highland Ranger

    Highland Ranger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    234
    25
    43
    ditto - rooted running chevy4.6 but did it before as well.

    I notice that using the dots to slide thru the trays seems to work better than swiping and snaps it back faster.
     
  7. may2700

    may2700 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    unrooted and having the same problem
     
  8. macktns

    macktns Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    66
    2
    16
    frg22 seems better, also try factory reset if you didn't before because it seemed to help when i had the ota
     
  9. may2700

    may2700 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    were are you getting frg22 from? ota? i forced 2.2 but i dont have frg22
     
  10. famac!

    famac! Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    100
    3
    36
    I had the same problem with forced FRG01B. I rooted and went with FRG22. Still the same problem. I installed Launcherpro and it solved 95% of the problem.
     
  11. richiedadd

    richiedadd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Mine is doing it too.
     
  12. slowmofo

    slowmofo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    3
    0
    5
  13. Genetic_Bloom

    Genetic_Bloom Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    124
    7
    56
    Are you guys all using LauncherPro? Go into settings and uncheck the Keep in Memory box. This will solve your problem.

    Edit: Even if you choose not to use LP and use the stock launcher, LP is still running in the background so you will still experience the lag. Be sure to uncheck the box or completely close LP in order to prevent the lag.
     
  14. chiefvelo

    chiefvelo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    52
    2
    16
    Certain added apps are slowing down 2.2 for me. Pandora, yahoo. where pretty bad. uninstall and its quick now.
    Launcher pro was slower and uninstalled that also.
     
  15. Highland Ranger

    Highland Ranger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    234
    25
    43
    I am not using Launcher Pro unless it is built into the ROM . . . . dont see a place for those settings so I am thinking not built in.
     
  16. twistedlim

    twistedlim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    804
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    804
    80
    78
    Michigan
    Rooted Froyo runnning Launcher pro. No problems, snaps right back into place. Go to settings/display/animations and turn off animations and see if this helps.
     
    outthere, MarvinAndroid and nader2013 like this.
  17. Highland Ranger

    Highland Ranger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    234
    25
    43
    that seemed to help - thanks.
     
  18. StrifeJester

    StrifeJester Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    313
    35
    43
    IT Network Administrator
    Abbotsford, WI
    This seems pretty common but one thing I noticed that doesn't happen anymore is at least they always come back. I used to have to turn my phone off from time to time because the home screens would just be blank.
     
  19. pman555

    pman555 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    39
    5
    16
    Does anyone have a complete solution to this? (Without rooting my phone)

    I forced the official FRG01B update, from this thread: http://androidforums.com/all-things...d-smoked-glass-got-new-notifcation-today.html

    My phone also goes to a blank home screen for a few seconds before all of the icons show up eventually. This happens when using the back button to exit out of apps sometimes. It also always happens when I take my phone off of the charging station in the morning.
     
  20. commander769

    commander769 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I'm having the same problem here, manually upgraded to FRG01B and was hoping FRG22 would fix the problem, but now I read that they are resuming the OTA push of FRG01B? Next step.... root
     
  21. mattbooty

    mattbooty Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    I just bit the bullet and did a factory reset. Once I'm back up and running I'll let everyone know if it solved the icon refresh problem for me.
     
  22. mattbooty

    mattbooty Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    Ok, reset complete, it actually wasn't as much of a pain as I thought it would be. I did loose all my text message history but no big deal there.

    So far I haven't witnessed a single problem with icon refresh. It seems MUCH snappier all around after the reset (I bought my droid in december and this is the first reset I've done).
     
  23. Highland Ranger

    Highland Ranger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    234
    25
    43
    factory reset loads unrooted froyo or whichever rom you last loaded?
     
  24. mattbooty

    mattbooty Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    I'm not rooted, so if you are I have no clue what will happen if you factory reset, but if you aren't rooted, factory reset takes it back to the way it would be if you purchased a brand new droid with froyo preinstalled. I actually had to call an automated phone number to activate service on it (all automatic) and re-enter my gmail info. It only takes about 5 minutes to do that set up, then reinstall all my apps.

    I tried using astro to back up my app settings but it didn't work, it backed them up, said it restored them, but none of the settings came thru, I had to reset them all up... not a big deal though. Most of my apps had minimal settings changes. All told it took about an hour to get it all set back up.

    So far so good on the home screen, the icons still occassionally "pop-in" instead of just being there, but now its a less than a second delay instead of 5+ seconds like before the reset.
     
  25. Vance

    Vance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    562
    55
    78
    I also did a factory reset and I am still having the "blank icons" problem.

    Also, sometimes it does not immediately want to swipe to another screen. The first time after starting the phone, it takes a couple of swipes to get it going, then it does fine during that whole "session".
     

Share This Page

Loading...