1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 2.2 stole my silent!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by shadow1435, Apr 22, 2011.

  1. shadow1435

    shadow1435 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Im assuming this has been discussed... somewhere... but i cant find it. Is there a way to get silent back? Now my volume rocker only takes it down to vibrate.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Leonard1818

    Leonard1818 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010

    Oct 13, 2010
    301
    23
    38
    I've seen the complaint on here but no answer. I think there's another way to turn your phone on silent but I'm not sure what it is as I've only ever used the vol - button.
     
  3. miyooper

    miyooper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010

    Nov 1, 2010
    208
    29
    43
    Upper Michigan
    If you hold the power button "silent mode" is one of the options. Also
    go to settings-sounds settings-vibrate-chose only when not in silent mode
    will allow you to rocker down to silent.
     
  4. tystevens

    tystevens Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    86
    4
    16
    SLC, Utah
    I just have a shortcut on my home screen to sound settings. One click to reach "silence" screen. It also comes in handy since every time I turn the GPS on, it jacks the system volume all the way up, so I can take care of that problem, too! I was hoping 2.2 would fix that, but looks like it still does it.
     
  5. shadow1435

    shadow1435 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    Apr 22, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    The silent thing in the options does work, but then you have no vibrate option. Who at verizon or samsung thought this was a good idea? Really guys? cmooooooon...
     
  6. Jpags

    Jpags Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    35
    3
    16
    I use ringer toggle widgets and get a widget on the homepage that can switch between sound modes.
     
  7. eric328

    eric328 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010


    As an addendum to Jpags comment, if you use the widget, you are still able to have vibrate and silent modes. Somehow the widget bypasses whatever flaw is in the settings. Try Silent Toggle Widget and see if it works for you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...