1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

2.2 trick I found

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by smfoley1, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. smfoley1

    smfoley1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    235
    13
    38
    maybe this is already out there but I dont recall reading it. Feel free to move this to the appropriate thread.
    anyway, at the bottom of the screen where the phone, apps and browser icons are, theres little dots on either side. pushing one side or the other scrolls the screen to that direction but if you push both sides at the same time, icons for all five home screens will pop up and you can pick the one you want to go to instead of scrolling thru the pages.
     

    Advertisement

  2. shadybuckeye

    shadybuckeye Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Laborer
    Ohio
    Hitting your home button should do the same thing:)
     
  3. zandroidx

    zandroidx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    93
    9
    16
    Not exactly. You just long-press the dots on either side. That brings up a mini-preview of your home screens that you can jump to.
     
  4. johnrigu

    johnrigu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    104
    8
    36
    S. New Jersey
    hitting the home button only works if you have launcher pro
     
  5. smfoley1

    smfoley1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    235
    13
    38
    isnt that what I said, preview, icons, same thing
     
  6. Hangdog42

    Hangdog42 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    170
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    170
    25
    63
    Maryland

    Not entirely true. I don't have launcher pro and if I longpress home, I get recently used apps.
     
  7. zandroidx

    zandroidx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    93
    9
    16
    No, you said to press both icons at the same time. The way to do it is to long-press either icon. Pressing them both doesn't do it and has unpredictable response. I suspect if you keep trying it will eventually interpret your press as a long-press. So just long press one of the dots, not both.
     
  8. johnrigu

    johnrigu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    104
    8
    36
    S. New Jersey
    i wasnt refering to recently used apps, I was refering to the 5 home screens.
     
  9. shadybuckeye

    shadybuckeye Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Laborer
    Ohio
    I didnt take having launcher pro into consideration...nice catch. Thanks:eek:
     
  10. crankerchick

    crankerchick Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    593
    113
    93
    holding the home button gives recently used programs. long pressing either side where the dots are gives all 5 screens to choose from. this is stock, not with launcher pro.
     
  11. Joon525

    Joon525 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    58
    14
    18
    I'll add that pressing the middle button between the phone and web buttons does the same as the dots.
     
    johnnybirdman likes this.
  12. smfoley1

    smfoley1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    235
    13
    38
    gotcha, I guess I just happened to press both for some reason and it worked. but ya you are right. only need to long press one side or the other, or long press the apps button
     

Share This Page

Loading...