1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

2 problems with Fresh 2.3.3 - google maps and voicemail!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by texas83, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. texas83

    texas83 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    47
    0
    15
    Specs on my phone:
    Rooted HTC Hero 2.1. Fresh Rom 2.3.3, DarchKernel 2.6.34, OC'd to 768 with SetCPU.

    I've got 2 problems!

    #1. Google Maps crashes whenever I open it. It'll open the program, attempt to load a map, and then reboot itself straight to the white screen with "HTC" on it. Just once or twice before this started happening, i opened Google Maps and the GPS was off by a half mile or so from my actual position.

    #2. Sprint voicemail text messages from 9016. Every time I get a voicemail, the icon works properly on my sprint VVM, but then I get some weird long text from 9016 //ANDROID:$. Anyone know how to eliminate this?

    THANKS FOR YOUR HELP!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    #1. I would set the OC speed to 710. Many Hero users have issues above this speed.

    #2. I have experienced this on ZenEXP ROM, but not on Fresh 2.3.3, so no idea, other than using Handcent for sms, and blacklisting the text from 9016.
     
  3. texas83

    texas83 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    47
    0
    15
    I set overclock to 710, rebooted phone. Fired up Google Maps. This time the application opened, again it had me 6 or 7 streets away from my actual location. After a minute, it crashed again and reboot the entire phone by itself. Any other suggestions? PLEASEEEEEEEE
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Reload the ROM... wipe EVERYTHING and start from scratch.

    The ROM may not have "held" correctly.
     
  5. texas83

    texas83 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    47
    0
    15
    Oh man, i finally have the phone working and set up exactly how i want, except this Google Maps crashing. Is there a way to back up apps/settings/screens on Launcher Pro before I do this?

    And when you say WIPE everything, what exactly does that mean? I know the Wipe option in recovery, but I never wiped davlik or SD before. THanks for the help!
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    No idea... But you can use "shoot me" to take screen shots.

    Try just wiping the davlik and see what that does for you.


    Make a nandroid first!
     
  7. texas83

    texas83 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    47
    0
    15
    can someone tell me what the davlik is before i go off and wipe it? what does it accomplish? thank you!
     
  8. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    Kelmar,

    You are running Fresh 2.3.3 right? Can you please try out Ustream app and see if it works?

    (P.S. Thread hijacking, I know)

    Thanks :)
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Clear Dalvik Cache - xda-developers

    You won't cause any problems if that's what you mean.

    Broadcaster, viewer or launcher? Never used it so don't know what I'm looking for.
     
  10. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    Broadcaster. When you launch the app, it should allow you to broadcast over 3G of WiFi. Live video streaming, for free :). You would need to have a ustream account though, but they are free to signup for :)
     
  11. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    PM me what I need to know for this or what I'm looking for.... :p
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...