1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support *228 Could someone explain it a bit more

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RoujinKarma, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. RoujinKarma

    RoujinKarma Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012

    Mar 26, 2012
    60
    16
    18
    Alright got a question for you all, I rely on 3g internet quite a bit, and sometimes my ping will be REALLY high and sometimes its really low. Now I was doing some research on how to force a PRL update, and i saw that CDMA phones can use *228 to update it. I was wondering if I can do this on Virgin Mobile, and on a Android phone without breaking or hurting anything. Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. kwknott

    kwknott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    1,520
    729
    253
    I could be wrong and if I am someone please correct me but I'm pretty sure *228 if only for Verizon phones to update the PRL. I know when I had Sprint I had to go into settings on my phone to start a PRL update. And since Virgin Mobile doesn't support Roaming they don't do normal PRL updates. The only way for you to update PRL on a Virgin Mobile phone is to use QPST
     
    RoujinKarma likes this.
  3. musicfreak126

    musicfreak126 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011

    Nov 12, 2011
    27
    2
    16
    I think *228 is activation on our phones.
     
  4. kwknott

    kwknott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    1,520
    729
    253
    That code doesn't work on a stock vm phone. ##847446# enters service programming which lets you activate or manually edit mdn (phone number) and msid. Only works on stock or froyo custom rom
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...