1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support *228 roaming update - now problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dalumberjack, May 18, 2010.

  1. dalumberjack

    dalumberjack Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    198
    31
    43
    San Jose, CA
    Did the roaming update a few days ago (14th) and since my friendstream will no longer update. It says there Is an error with the HTC.straem. etc........ and it must be closed. Any one else getting this problem before or after the update? I get better signal strength but I'd rather have friend stream work.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mitch R.

    Mitch R. Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    77
    6
    16
    I started having browser freezes after I did the roaming update a couple days ago, not sure if the update is the cause but the timing coincides with the issue.
     
  3. lespaulist

    lespaulist Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    84
    15
    18
    Same here I started getting process errors after the update.
     
  4. MarkR

    MarkR Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Same here!
     
  5. serpentine009

    serpentine009 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    251
    35
    43
    Why would you do a roaming update? Were you prompted. I have rarely done them on any device I have owned.
     
  6. serpentine009

    serpentine009 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    251
    35
    43
    Why would you do a roaming update? Were you prompted. I have rarely done them on any device I have owned.
     
  7. dalumberjack

    dalumberjack Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    198
    31
    43
    San Jose, CA
    Some posted that there was an update for signal strength. I did the update and my version number did change and I went from -89db in the house to -72db. My phone has better recpetion in the house but I'd rather have everything else work instead.

    UGH.... anybody get a hold of Verizon and ask them? I may shoot them an email today.
     
  8. greenrolaids

    greenrolaids Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    484
    78
    53
    Seattle
    i have been getting random reboots alot in the last few days.

    I called verizon and the guy i talked with said he has never heard of the problem.

    Then i suggested that he go to this forum and read up on the matter.
     
  9. Reddog80p

    Reddog80p Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    334
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    334
    39
    43
    Northern Illinois
    I doubt that's what's behind the friendstream issue. Maybe look into known freindstream issues. I don't use it myself but I've seen a few posts saying an app conflicted withe freindstream. Here's a post from another forum perhaps this may help...
    I would imagine that you could do the same if say you use facebook, or myspace or whichever.
     
  10. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    Verizon recommends you do it every 90 days or after changing your pricing plan. I do it once a month ;)
     
    nightfishing likes this.
  11. nightfishing

    nightfishing Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    588
    111
    93
    1. the update is not causing your issues
    2. I would recommend (also) to update roaming every 30 days or so.
    3. this was an actual prl update
     
    GrandMasterB likes this.
  12. serpentine009

    serpentine009 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    251
    35
    43
  13. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
  14. amarryat

    amarryat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    365
    41
    43
    MA
    Purely coincidence.

    Updating the PRL so that your phone has the latest list of cell towers to communicate with has nothing to do with your friendstream. And signal strength will only improve if a new tower is included in the list that has a better signal near where you are.
     
  15. mills23

    mills23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    752
    29
    78
    Female
    I did the prl update an my signal got worse.
     
  16. MarkR

    MarkR Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Has a fix been found? Mine still does not work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...