1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 2GB of RAM :(

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ogwilson, Sep 29, 2015.

  1. ogwilson

    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009

    Apr 13, 2009
    395
    2,511
    238
    Male
    Blogger, Phandroid.com
    New Berlin, WI
    Was hoping the 2GB of RAM bit weren't true. I love LG devices and wouldn't have minded getting the "lesser" of the two Nexus devices simply due to price and smaller size. But there's something slightly unforgiveable about just 2GB of RAM, especially with how taxing the latest versions of Android have proven to be. Maybe they've improved memory management in Marshmallow to make this a non-issue, who knows. But who else is a bit iffy about this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. rayfin

    rayfin Writer at Phandroid.com
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Meh. Let's not complain about RAM numbers until we use the actual device. 2GB is plenty for MM.
     
    Rajbir Lorriet likes this.
  3. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    2,013
    Posts:
    23,691
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    23,691
    11,469
    2,013
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    IMO you can never have enough RAM, doesn't matter how they(or anyone) try to justify that. With devices like the Note 5 having 4gb, 2 just seems so... 2014.
     
  4. alnova1

    alnova1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    555
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    555
    27
    68
    Virginia
    IMO if you are running Touchwiz...you need 4GB of ram.
     
    rayfin and CaffeineBomb like this.
  5. LG Fanatic

    LG Fanatic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 13, 2014

    May 13, 2014
    294
    181
    68
    Male
    Northeast USA
    I think 2 gigs of ram is plenty, even with heavy multi-tasking. Remember, ram management has greatly improved in android over the years. For example, Kitkatt and above were designed to work well even on devices with 512mb of ram.
     
    rayfin likes this.
  6. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,754
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Yeah, certainly wouldn't hurt. Fortunately, the 5X will NOT be running Touchwiz.

    Maybe 512MB RAM was the design target, but I think a 1GB minimum is much more realstic in actual use.

    If they stuffed 8GB RAM in a phone someone would still moan about Android multitasking being a joke because they were playing Need for Speed, streàming Pandora, editing a huge Excel spreadsheet, while talking to his boss, downloading a photo album - but it slowed down when he opened Maps.
     
  7. Rajbir Lorriet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015

    Aug 16, 2015
    36
    4
    36
    Male
    I think 4GB is enough than 2GB.
     
  8. IRULUTechnology

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015

    Sep 9, 2015
    34
    3
    26
    Male
    Then pick up 6P,3GB of RAM .. usually 2GB is enough for this original Android OS
     
  9. val88

    val88 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    269
    51
    53
    imo, I don't think 2gb will be an issue. I think everyone is thinking we need 3gb not because of a current situation but a fear of something that might happen and to me thats just irrational fear. I doubt that Marshmallow will be that taxing because think about how many devices out now with less than 3gb that would bite the dirt. Also, if 2gb is an issue then 3gb won't be much help because that is just a half step up. You need 4gb for a full step forward since memory operates on powers of 2. My current N5 with 2gb still runs like a champ and I would expect it to do so for quite some time if I keep using it. I think this 2gb limit will be fine for the next 2 years. I don't really think people with 5x will keep it that long because its kind of an underwhelming phone anyway.
     
  10. Fallenminerjereco

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015

    Sep 30, 2015
    7
    0
    15
    PFFFFT HAHA, Your mad about 2gb of ram being too little?!, try 512MB On 4.4 kitkat
     
  11. snacdaws

    snacdaws Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015

    Apr 10, 2015
    4
    0
    5
    my nexus 5 was running fine on 2gb ram only issuebis battery life

    but it's stuttering every so often since i decided to get the 5x

    it seems like the og 5 is jealous or something
     
  12. morgankslade

    morgankslade Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    861
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011

    Aug 9, 2011
    861
    135
    123
    Mens Formalwear
    Southeast, Michigan
    OG Nexus 5 is a decent device. You could replace the battery. That is what I am going to do by the end of the year.
     
  13. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,098
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,098
    16,451
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    2GB is probably OK for this, given that 5X is the new entry level Nexus, and 6P is the more expensive premium flagship model AFAIK. I'm using a phone with 2GB RAM, and it's still OK for my uses.
     
  14. eosman

    eosman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    2gb will be fine for at least another year. It will be interesting to see what the next major release of Android will bring and what it will do that will require more memory.
     
  15. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,754
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    I don't think Android N, or even O, will require more RAM. That's why Google felt fine about bringing out the 5X with 2GB.
     
  16. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    966
    262
    113
    2 GB should be fine. Back in 2009-2011, RAM was a serious impediment to everyday performance (even things like loading the home screen or playing music in the background while web browsing). The things we do on smartphones isn't really that different from back then.
     
  17. jcal0820

    jcal0820 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012

    Jul 19, 2012
    49
    1
    16
    Army
    deployed in 4th world
    Anyone know how much RAM is in the new iPhone 6S, reg or plus size?
     
  18. Skyroket

    Skyroket Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    May 25, 2012

    May 25, 2012
    621
    61
    88
    Nexus 5x looks like mediocre midrange phone. I'm thinking of getting N6P the only problem is that gigantic form factor... I personally was hoping that N5x would be kinda like a Huawei P8
     
  19. LG Fanatic

    LG Fanatic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 13, 2014

    May 13, 2014
    294
    181
    68
    Male
    Northeast USA
    I disagree. While the 5X is not perfect(what phone is?), it's still a high end phone with some very nice features. I just wish it had a 64gig option.
     
  20. jcal0820

    jcal0820 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012

    Jul 19, 2012
    49
    1
    16
    Army
    deployed in 4th world
    I remember when 16GB was huge for a mobile device not too long ago, but now it's a joke. Apps seem to get more and bigger. Will 32GB become the new '16 GB' (token useless entry level size) pretty soon?
     
  21. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    966
    262
    113
    Really? I don't remember 16 GB being huge. My first smartphone was the HTC Magic, which had something like 512 MB of internal storage, and I think I was able to get a 4 GB or 8 GB MicroSD card. I never felt that was huge or even that 16 GB was huge.

    I don't think I felt any storage was huge until I got a 32 GB Galaxy Nexus. The phone was a bit crappy, but the storage was huge, and I could put all my favorite music on there (not just a few select playlists).
     
  22. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,754
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    I started with the HTC G1. 192Mb RAM, 256Mb internal storage. That's it, though it does have a SD slot. And remember, that 256Mb is for the OS and apps.

    2Gb RAM will be fine.
     
  23. exninja

    exninja Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    298
    94
    63
    AZ
    I am considering starting a thread titled "i'm glad they kept it at 2 GB RAM"

    The reason why I'm glad is that it means that Google is still trying to keep the prices somewhat reasonable while selling an efficiently well-performing phone. I own a 2013 Nexus 5, and got worried that I wouldn't be able to get another Nexus since the 6 was appropriately named Shamu and the price was equally bloated. This phone is relieving because when I do replace my 5 there will probably be a well priced new option. Now the question is if they continue the every-other-year thing or if they change that up. 4 years on the phone could be tough...
     
  24. LG Fanatic

    LG Fanatic Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    May 13, 2014

    May 13, 2014
    294
    181
    68
    Male
    Northeast USA
    Both have two gigs of ram. It's funny how some complain about "only" having 2 gigs of ram for android while iOS just chugs along with only one or two gigs.
     
  25. jaj324

    jaj324 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011

    Nov 16, 2011
    350
    89
    53
    Male
    Making sure people do what they are supposed to do
    Alabama
    My Tab Pro 8.4 runs great with 2GB of RAM.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...