1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root 3.2 update question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by apavolka, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. apavolka

    apavolka Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    495
    30
    43
    Plumbing Supply House
    Flagstaff, AZ
    When updating to 3.2 did anyone unfreeze all the apps and lose root? If so, is 3.2 easily rootable via one click like 3.1 & 3.0?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Green1

    Green1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    3.2 is not yet rootable if you upgrade you will loose root. (and if you don't unfreeze your apps before update the update will probably fail)

    (keeping my fingers crossed for a quick solution to root!
     
    apavolka likes this.
  3. Jackson1

    Jackson1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    15
    0
    35
    Download this, flash and you get to keep root.
    [ROM] Acer_A500 OTA 7.006.01 [HC 3.2] Rooted w/ Busybox for CWR

    I've not had any issues with it.
     
  4. Green1

    Green1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Only problem is you have to do that while still on 3.1, if you went to 3.2 first you're screwed.
     
  5. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    301
    81
    73
    Got an actual link to this? :)
     
  6. apavolka

    apavolka Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    495
    30
    43
    Plumbing Supply House
    Flagstaff, AZ
    +1

    I have yet to go to 3.2 for the exact reason stated above.
     
  7. kenji57

    kenji57 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    205
    30
    43
    N/A
  8. RJSH_1727

    RJSH_1727 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    85
    2
    16
    I was reading the Tablet forums this morning.. how do I get this update because it keeps saying my system is up-to-date but I read where they were releasing sometime in early September. Any help would greatly be appreciated!
     
  9. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    If you rooted, chances are you won't get the prompt. You'll have to flash a 3.2 ROM from XDA or the link posted above. Or undo all the changes you made while rooted and try the update, again.

    Personally, I recommend grabbing that link or flashing a 3.2 ROM.
     
  10. RJSH_1727

    RJSH_1727 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    85
    2
    16

    Thanks, but I'm not Rooted, and have no reasons to root my Tablet. Guess I'll continue to wait with the rest of USA.. LOLOL
     
  11. Internetpilot

    Internetpilot Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    If you upgraded via OTA and lost root, there is still hope. Check out the following tutorial :

    [TUT] Revert OTA 3.2 back to 3.0.1 - xda-developers

    You're basically downgrading to v3.01, upgrading to v3.1, obtaining root again, and then you can flash one of the rooted v3.2 ROMs available.

    I didn't actually do this on my A500, just posting it for others. Numerous people have said it worked for them tho. I didn't accept the OTA and instead flashed the relatively stock v3.2 ROM from ezterry.
     

Share This Page

Loading...