1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root 3.4.2 flashable zip Question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Caveman419, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. Caveman419

    Caveman419 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    623
    85
    98
    Male
    Financial Systems Support Specialist
    Last cave on the left
    This has been rooted finally, that is it though. No themes or optimization (i'm sure that they will be coming).
    I was wondering if anyone has used the update type file from the TBH app?
    If so can you shed any light on the steps?
    Do you just place the flashable zip on the root of your SD card, rename it update.zip, reboot into CWR, and select apply sdcard:update.zip?
    If so, does one do it from a stock build or can it be done from different ROMs?
     

    Advertisement

  2. FragDroidX

    FragDroidX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    820
    314
    113
    I flashed this a little while back and again last night. I did manage to get it to root last night but it was not easy. Getting any kind of app on there was a miracle. When I did finally get bootstrap re-installed it would NOT go into recovery and I had to SBF. It took me three tries to finally get the SBF to work. This is NOT stable at all and reboots over and over for no reason and there is really nothing in there to make it even remotely worth flashing at this point. Do yourself a favor and forget about it for now.
     
  3. Caveman419

    Caveman419 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    623
    85
    98
    Male
    Financial Systems Support Specialist
    Last cave on the left
    Thank you for your quick response. I was hoping to have a look at the profiles option that was in there, as well as the pocket detection. I will give it some time and let some of the Devs play a little more before flashing this.

    Can you clear up how to use the flashable zips from P3 though? He put out the 2.3.34 version.
     
  4. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    OK.
    1. You do not need to rename the zip. You can install it like any other "Rom". Put it on your SD, Go to install zip from sdcard, navigate to the zip file and install.

    2. I came from Rubix Focused 1.97. I created a backup, then installed it as normal.

    3. If you're having problems rooting this, use the program P3droid suggested. Here's the link: Special version SuperOneClick:root froyo/2.51 easily! - xda-developers

    It worked for me first try.
    Also, download the D2 bootstrapper; the DX version doesn't work with 3.4.2.

    4. This update is fairly stable. I've not had a single reboot. I've reinstalled all my apps (from market) without a hitch.
    When you're installing an update like this, you should wipe data/factory reset. Your data may be incompatible with the updated system; hell, we have to wipe data when we sbf.
    If you're boot looping constantly, try doing a factory reset. GL
     
    Caveman419 likes this.
  5. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    A flashable zip is an SBF in an update.zip format. You can install it with CWM as you would any another Rom (refer to my previous post).
     
  6. Caveman419

    Caveman419 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    623
    85
    98
    Male
    Financial Systems Support Specialist
    Last cave on the left
    Does that mean that the 2.3.40 flashable zip from the TBH app would then bring you back to 2.3.40 from 3.4.2 without having to do a full SBF with RSD Lite (since the bootloader version is the same)?
     
  7. FragDroidX

    FragDroidX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    820
    314
    113

    All you would have to do is go back into recovery and restore your backup thru bootstrap. Some are reporting that the Droid 2 bootstrap will work but after the nightmare I had last night I don't know if I am going to try this build again. The profile feature is OK but nothing great and the pocket detection only work some of the time. While it does seem to be working for some it is also not working for others.

    I installed this after a fresh SBF. It was a completely clean install and I still had massive problems. But if your feeling froggy by all means try for yourself :).
     
    Caveman419 likes this.
  8. Caveman419

    Caveman419 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    623
    85
    98
    Male
    Financial Systems Support Specialist
    Last cave on the left
    Just doing research right now. I usually don't jump into anything until at least 2-3 weeks of asking questions and watching what happens to others. I like to be prepared for any problem that could arise.
     
  9. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    900
    288
    113
    EE
    NJ
    I did a data wipe/factory reset, via CWM, after installing the update. Maybe you can try that (if you ever install the update again). And yes, the D2 bootstrap is fine.
     
  10. cvhovey

    cvhovey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Oregon
    There's a post over at droidxforums.com > Droid X Hacks > Blur 3.4.2 thread > first post which outlines step-by-step installing 3.4.2 and getting recovery to work correctly. I had reboots when trying to install apps etc until doing a pre- and post-install factory reset/cache wipe.

    Everything seemed to run smooth, however overclocking didn't work for me. Well, it would appear to work but not load at reboot (QuickClock, JRummy's overclock or SetCPU) when setting to option to do so. Then it took Mader's OTA to wipe out traces of Droid 2 Bootstrapper before I could use QuickClock, JRummy's overclock or SetCPU after flashing back to .340.
     
  11. ram130

    ram130 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    56
    5
    16
    I am not having any issues with this build per say. It's very fast and stable..hell even battery seems better. I flashed over my stock .340 without a factory reset and kept my all my 98 apps. No problems of instability at all! I figure since Motorola would have to make this into a ota then why would I need to factory reset. I just used my knowledge from my nexus one and applied it to this.

    Anyway I have a question to those that flashed this. Can you please answer. Do you see AM/PM next to the clock like you always do??
     
  12. cvhovey

    cvhovey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Oregon
    Now that you ask, no AM/PM.
     
    ram130 likes this.
  13. ram130

    ram130 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    56
    5
    16
    Thanks so much for the reply. That's seems to be the only problem with this rom. Im surprised how stable it is even though I didn't factory reset.
     
  14. cvhovey

    cvhovey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Oregon
    You seem to have lucked out as I was one of those who could not get apps to install or attempted installs would cause a reboot ... until doing a pre- and post-install factory reset. Now its running really smooth and fast even though underclocking (300-900) and undervolting with Droid Overclock. Been a little under the weather so not using my phone quite as much and with the stock battery its at 73 hours and 11% remaining (per Circle Battery Widget).
     
  15. ram130

    ram130 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    56
    5
    16
    Thats great. I had upto 1day and 1 hour of battery life with 1hour worth of calls and 2-3hour display on time. Just last night I had over 5hour worth of calls and 2 hour display on time, had 20% left after 8hrs.

    Anyway I don't think it's really luck :D , I'm a dare devil. Coming from the Nexus One I got use to some steps to take before flashing a new update of a rom without doing a reset and I just follow that. If I had got a bootloop I would have done the reset. Like I said, it's stable as hell.

    I believe this was just meant as update though, think about it. It's going to be a OTA(after they fix that AM/PM thing) at some point for users so I know Motorola must have included a update path for those who didn't want to delete their apps. They would have just made da changes in their update.zip..

    anyways

    The steps I took were:

    1. back up apps just in case :D

    2. Clear Dalvik Cache (this fixes issues from previous roms)

    3. Clear Cache.

    4. Flash it.

    5. Wait for it to boot, give it a extra 10mins without touching it once done booting.

    6. Reboot

    7. Wait a extra 3mins once done then setup my google account.

    8. All my apps where there already from where I left off. Didn't have to set anything back up really.
     
  16. cvhovey

    cvhovey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Oregon
    Being the dare devil, are you using the DX or D2 Bootstrapper? It seems, at least for me, the D2 Bootstrapper doesn't work the same with with Rom Manager. In .340, I could use Rom Manager to name the backup, but when I've absentmindedly done it that way in 3.4.2, I get stuck in a 'pre-recovery' screen or whatever (robot w/ arrow to folder or something like that) but nothing happens so have to do battery pull and backup only via Bootstrap Recovery. Then go back and manually rename backup so I know what it is. No biggie ... just saves a step or two by doing it all via Rom Manager.
     
  17. ram130

    ram130 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    56
    5
    16
    That sounds messed up. I have not tried flashing a boot strap since I got on 3.4.2 though. I usually just back up all my apps with Titanium Backup then restore. Anytime I do a nandroid I usually boot into clock work first and do it. I had some bad experiences with Rom Manager and back ups, so I stop taking shortcuts and just make the extra effort.

    I would suggest trying D2 Bootstrap then boot into recovery and restore from there. Sometimes the easy way out don't work. Also I've herd you might want to SBF to .340 first then restore your back up since the kernel is different, so try that.

    gluck.
     
  18. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,968
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,968
    25,381
    3,933
    Male
    I had no idea this had been rooted. Huh. Where have I been?
     
  19. cvhovey

    cvhovey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    30
    3
    16
    Oregon
    Better late than never..... :D
     
  20. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Another Friday night goes by and Steven doesn't know where he is.... :eek:

    At least you found your pants this time, right? :D
     
  21. wheelna

    wheelna Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    67
    1
    16
    Exact same problems
     
  22. Caveman419

    Caveman419 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    623
    85
    98
    Male
    Financial Systems Support Specialist
    Last cave on the left
    I went ahead and took the plunge. Everything is working great, well almost everything. Nothing major malfunctioning. Every now and then the camera does not take "real" pictures. It looks like corrupt files, the picture is just black with a pictures icon in the middle. And I have not been able to flash the new Honeycomb boot animation. Other than that it runs great.

    On a side note, it is awesome being able to cruise the forums on the XOOM instead of my laptop. Everybody should have one.
     
  23. faber78

    faber78 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    subscribed
     
  24. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    1,682
    308
    163
    T-Mobile
    NJ
    I've been running it a few days. Used the special 1 click root and droid 2 bootstrap.
    It runs flawlessly. All apps downloaded and run perfect. Honeybread theme to top it off
     
  25. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    i had no idea this even EXISTED...so what does that say about me? :eek:

    ok, so please somebody give me the rundown on what 3.4.2 is please??:thinking::thinking:
     
    C0n57an71n3 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...