1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

3-day rule to return a car purchase???

Discussion in 'Automotive' started by dan330, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,821
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,821
    3,411
    923
    hi guys..
    any car sales men here?

    i remember there was a rule about... a 3 day grace period.. where a client can back out of a used / new car purchase.

    is that true? and what are the conditions?

    10 yrs ago.. i told a friend about that rumor.. and she was able to return a car that was way over her head.

    thanks,
     

    Advertisement

  2. AngelArs

    AngelArs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    208
    39
    43
    vB code analysis, Android / iOS Developer, CEO My
    This will vary state by state. Nationally I think there is just the lemon law.
     
  3. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    This :)
     
  4. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,821
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,821
    3,411
    923
    ok.. i guess not..
     
  5. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    Some states have a 72hr Right of Rescission law. See if your state is one of those and then research how it works.
     
  6. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    7,059
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    7,059
    966
    213
    Generally speaking, you need a better reason to return the car than just buyer's remorse. Cars lose a ton of money just when you drive them off the lot. The laws generally are there to protect both parties from fraudulent transactions.
     
  7. DWILSON48625

    DWILSON48625 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    306
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011

    Nov 30, 2011
    306
    86
    53
    Harrison Mi
    In Michigan, you have 3 days after purchase to drive a vehicle home, even without a plate. This is infact true. We have no law regarding buyers remorse and returning a car.
     
  8. Bob Maxey

    Bob Maxey Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    4,836
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    4,836
    806
    233
    I agree with some gathered here, check the laws in your state.

    What always bothered me were the "As Is" rules. Dealers sell the vehicle as it is with no real warranty and I have encountered a few dealers that use the warranty as a way to pass off bad crap to clueless buyers.

    I do think the dealer must take a car back if he lies to you about the condition. But because dealers never lie or stretch the truth, it is always your fault. Especially since you could not be bothered to put the car on the rack and you actually believed that all of that white smoke pouring out from under the hood is special effects, and not a bad head gasket or coolant leak.

    Fortunately, I sorta kinda know what to look for when I buy a car. I love only the old crap. That said, you really need to take the car to a mechanic or take a mechanic with you before you sign on the line.

    Some sales people might not tell you about that crack in the transfer case or some other problem. And a three year old, $8,000.00 car can be far more costly than a $17,000.00 car of the same year.
     
  9. Davdi

    Davdi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #168
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    990
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012

    Jul 4, 2012
    990
    295
    143
    Looking for a Job
    The Shire
    ^^^ This. In the UK we have the Sale of Goods act which states that anything sold must be of merchantable quality and fit for purpose. proving that a car has a pre-existing fault can be difficult.
     

Share This Page

Loading...