1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 3G and wifi??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by scooz16, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. scooz16

    scooz16 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    218
    22
    38
    Baltimore
    So I use the Extended Controls widget to switch between 3G and Wifi. Today for the first time I noticed that when I switch to Wifi the 3G status bar is still up and running along with a strong wifi signal.

    Why is this??
     

    Advertisement

  2. lilsaphyre

    lilsaphyre Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    116
    17
    38
    Wilmington NC
    I have extended controls for the same reason except it doesn't turn ur 3g off. It's a common misunderstanding.
     
  3. scooz16

    scooz16 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    218
    22
    38
    Baltimore

    Really?? Most of the time I noticed that the 3G indicator goes away. But tonight I see both are running at the same time. I turned it off and back on and now we seem to be good.

    If the 3G indicator isn't there I assume it's turned off right??
     
  4. lilsaphyre

    lilsaphyre Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    116
    17
    38
    Wilmington NC
    If it isn't there and the wifi one isn't there as well then it's turned off.
    I hate how alot of these apps say they turn this service off and on and then it won't.

    Easy Switch is much better and free
     
    scooz16 likes this.
  5. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    You might just consider leaving WiFi on. It'll connect whenever it can and when unavailable it'll auto default over to 3G. Maybe you have special reasons but if battery is your concern, I've found this configuration with WiFi sleep set to "never" is about as good as it gets particularly if you're covered by WiFi anywhere near a significant portion of the day. YMMV.
     
    scooz16 likes this.
  6. lilsaphyre

    lilsaphyre Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    116
    17
    38
    Wilmington NC
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH! My Battery would be dead in 3 hours with Wifi trying to find a signal over 3g. I can't leave mine like that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...