1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 3G/Data down when Wifi On?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by IzelTokatl, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    580
    90
    78
    a lifehacker
    Southern California
    anyone else notice that when they turn on the wifi, the 3G goes off? Never fails? I want both on, yes stupid, but thats how my last 3 android phones functioned. Might be a power saver thing? My wifi connection is finicky for some reason, I constantly get loading lag in the market, and Retry errors, very strange.
     

    Advertisement

  2. imnotmikal

    imnotmikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    1,041
    256
    183
    PC Technician
    Richmond, VA
    Because when you're on wifi, there's no need to be on 3g. Its power saving as well as less network traffic.
     
  3. DasMuse

    DasMuse Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    56
    3
    16
    Buffalo, NY
    the original droid was like that too... i'm pretty sure all android phones are.
     
  4. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    580
    90
    78
    a lifehacker
    Southern California

    I beg to differ. My HTC Eris, and my Samsung Fascinate allowed 3g and wifi to be on. Thats why I asked since im new to the Droid line.
     
  5. Schreiber

    Schreiber Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011

    I know my X2 does the same, never seen one that doesn't. No reason not to.
     
  6. imnotmikal

    imnotmikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    1,041
    256
    183
    PC Technician
    Richmond, VA
    Every Android I've owned/used does it.
     
  7. ekyle

    ekyle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,773
    108
    143
    Male
    Software Engineer
    Central NY
    My X nor my Thunderbolt would utilize 3G when the wifi was on and connected.
     

Share This Page

Loading...