1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root 3G data issues when rooted

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dageyra, Apr 9, 2011.

1. dageyra

dageyra Lurker
    None

Apr 9, 2011
    Hello all, I'm very new to android, just upgraded to the HTC Evo 4G with Sprint last week. I quickly realized sense was not for me and wanted to try out a new rom, so I rooted. I used this process (unrevoked3) to root:

Complete guide: How to root, backup, and flash new ROM and kernel on your HTC EVO

I went with CM7 as my ROM and I like it. I definitely would stick with it, but about a day after the root, I noticed data speeds stuck at 1X (I believe they were always at 1X, I just always used wi-fi). Now, I understand this is common, but I've tried many steps to resolve the problem based on a day and a half of searching forums. I setup the rom, fresh, as a sense-based backup to perform the troubleshooting steps:

- I updated the profile and PRL
    - I used the ##3282# trick to change the data type to automatic instead of CDMA.

Neither of these helped. As a baseline, I used speedtest.net mobile app to test speeds using the same server closest to me. In CM7, which said it was using 1X, I was getting less than 100k on average; in fresh, which said it was using 3G, I was getting the same, never over 100-120k.

So, thinking that this problem was specific to my phone, I made my way through the unroot process outlined here:

[How To] Unroot and return to stock [RUU Method] - Android Forums

This worked for me and I got back to a factory state. I expected speedtest to tell me the same, but it did not! I now get speeds (from the same server) nearing 1mb and the phone says I'm using 3G. Using this suggestion, I did see an increase in my 3G speed using the factory ROM:

(Fix) Downloads for Music apps and faster 3G - xda-developers