1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 3G data + signals

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cook4015, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. cook4015

    cook4015 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    13
    1
    16
    Over the past few months anytime i go to use my 3G connection my cell phone signal will go from a full signal down to 0 bars or no service at all 9 times out of 10 if i'm not using my 3G service my signals are fine.

    Before i rooted my phone and started configurations to boost my 3G speeds i had the same issues so i know that can't be the issue.

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    -cook4015
     

    Advertisement

  2. RedMurkal

    RedMurkal Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    208
    34
    43
    Male
    Ohio
    Are you running a custom rom? Also what are you using to tweak your 3g? Some signal tweaks dont work well with certain roms. From what Iv read devs usually incorporate signal tweaks into their rom. Could be interference, or plain old weak signal.
     
  3. haris163

    haris163 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    153
    16
    38
    Did you try a different location? Some places they just have a messed up signal. BTW, the stock Prevail doesn't differentiate (it always shows 3G) between a 1xRTT (much slower; technically is 2.5G but some people consider it as a 3G technology) vs. EVDO (faster) connection. If you really want to know the technology used, you can use the 2G,3G,CDMA widget
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/...result#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEsIm1zZC5uMmcubjNnIl0

    A couple days ago I was in the middle of nowhere and my connection was slower than a crippled turtle and it turned out I was on 1xRTT.
     
  4. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    HMMMMM, any chance that you are running the FA19 update? lol
     
  5. cook4015

    cook4015 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    13
    1
    16
    I'm new to rooting not really sure what a rom is. If you don't mind explaining to me what one is i would greatly appreciate it.

    As for 3G tweaking i followed what this thread suggested http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-prevail/380815-faster-3g-speed-configuration.html

    I seem to experience the problem everyday the problem is i live in a very small town of about 3,000 - 5,000 people and the bigger cities are 1.5 hours away but over all there's plenty of towers in the area still not sure why this is happening.

    I will give that widget a shot.

    If your talking about Odin fa19 gingerbread then yes. This thread http://androidforums.com/galaxy-pre...ock-factory-updated-02-23-new-fa19-image.html
     
  6. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,445
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Ej06
    http://www.mediafire.com/?5o1waiim3vxzfe1
     
    cook4015 likes this.
  7. cook4015

    cook4015 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    13
    1
    16
    It worked :) Thanks Lordvincent 90 & wetbiker7.

    Instead of making another thread i was wondering if you guys could help me with this as well i'm wanting to add this theme http://androidforums.com/galaxy-pre...61739-theme-ct-wp7-style-blue-04-01-12-a.html the last time i tried to add this theme i bricked my phone :( due to the lack of experience of knowing very little about rooting things or knowing what half of these programs due on here i am a little lost i know you had explained it to me before wetbiker7 but i really did not understand it as some of the stuff you listed i don't know what they due or how to really flash something without bricking my replacement phone.

    If someone would be nice enough to walk me through it step by step and what i need to download and install to add themes i would greatly appreciate it as i am new to this type of stuff.
     
  8. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Very simple and I'd be glad to help you.

    Just download the zip file and copy and paste it to your sd card. Then go in to CWM and select to install it from the sd card. Choose the zip file and let it install. That's it. :)


    EDIT: OH and make sure that you're running CTMod 3.4 first as this theme is for that ROM only.

    EDIT: updated MOD version to 3.4

    If this theme has not been updated to 3.5 and you are running that version, there are several themes other than the WP7 theme that will work. Just look through the themes in the rooted section and make sure that you download the correct theme for the ROM that you are running.
     
    cook4015 likes this.
  9. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    You can also download it straight to your phone. It will be in the download folder on your sd card. Take it out of the folder so that it's out in the open on your card ( DO NOT UNZIP IT). That way it will be readable in CWM. That's the slow way though. I would DL it to a computer then transfer it to the card.
     
  10. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,445
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    That theme is for ctmod, a custom ROM. And actually, it's not been updated for the newest build (3.5). I Believe it's currently been updated to work on ctmod3.4

    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=4281768

    Themes work by replacing images inside apks (apps) and then flashing them overtop of the existing ones on the phone. Two of those apks being framework-res.apk and systemui.apk (the framework and user interface for you ROM)
    If the themed replacements.are not from your ROM, they will not interact with the rest of the system correctly and the phone will not load. (bootloop/ 'soft brick')

    Edit- double ninja'd :eek::banghead:
     
    cook4015 and wetbiker7 like this.
  11. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal

    Glad that you mentioned that. I thought that the theme had already been updated. I had to go back and change the version from 3.5 to 3.4 . Thx


    If you are running CTMod 3.5, just use a theme that has been made for that version. There are a few that will work perfect for you.
     
  12. cook4015

    cook4015 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    13
    1
    16
    Alright thanks for the help guys i see i got clockworkmod on my SD card how can i tell i got CTMod 3.5?

    By flashing it means to boot into recovery mode and some how booting off that .zip(theme) correct?

    Sorry for the dumb questions i'm just trying to get a better understanding of things so i can do it right.

    As always your help is much appreciated.
     
  13. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Um, did you install CTMod 3.5? You should know it if you installed it. Here's the link if you haven't installed it yet. To use this theme you will need CTMod 3.4 which is in the link below also.

    http://androidforums.com/galaxy-pre...432614-rom-gb-2-3-6-ctmod-3-5-04-12-12-a.html

    This is how you install a zip from CWM.

    1) From a powered off phone, hold volume up and power at the same time until the black screen comes up with blue writing. Release the button as soon as you see the screen appear.

    2) Use the volume button to scroll up or down and the camera button to select. Scroll down to INSTALL FROM SD CARD then press the camera button to select it.

    3) You will now select CHOOSE ZIP FROM SD CARD

    4) Scroll down to the zip that you want to install and press the camera button to select.

    5) The phone will now install the zip. When installing ROM's, the phone can take several minutes to reboot so don't mess with it until it boots up completely.

    After CTMod is installed, install the theme the same way. If you want to install the WP7 theme you will need to install CTMOd3.4 from the link above. If you want to install CTMod 3.5 you can choose from the themes in the All Things Root section. Just make sure that they say that they are for CTMod 3.5

    You will follow the steps above to install the themes too. All of the threads for themes have the installation instruction in them so make sure you read before attempting the install.

    Good luck and happy modding. :D
     
    cook4015 likes this.
  14. cook4015

    cook4015 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    13
    1
    16
    I just installed CT Mod.

    Thanks for all your help :).
     
  15. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    No problemo bro. Once you've installed a custom ROM, you've entered a whole different world with all kinds of new options. I doubt very seriously that you'll ever go back to stock. :D
     
  16. cook4015

    cook4015 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    13
    1
    16
    I sure have entered a new world i'm so used to Jailbreaking iPods now i understand both.

    I never plan to go back to stock i'm enjoying the features of having a rooted device.

    Thanks again for all who has helped me hopefully i can help someone myself in the near future if they are in need of assistance :D.
     
  17. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Right on Cook. I also see that you are a new member. Welcome to the Forum. :)
     
    cook4015 likes this.
  18. cook4015

    cook4015 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    13
    1
    16
    Thanks, glad i found the forums :D.
     

Share This Page

Loading...