1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

3G/Data turning on and off...Sprint or my EVO?

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by ODog2323, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. ODog2323

    ODog2323 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    510
    41
    68
    NJ, USA
    This odd glitch started a couple weeks ago or so, but has gotten much more prevalent in the last few days.

    The mobile network turns on and off on its own every minute or so. Doesn't matter what the phone is doing or what app/task I'm using. When the data cuts off I peek into the settings and see mobile network is checked on, grayed out, and the small status message reads "turning on...". After a minute if this the data connection is restored, but only for another minute.

    Of course when I described this to my local Sprint rep, his only suggestion was a factory reset. I'm hoping that isn't necessary.

    Anyone else seeing this bug with their service? I'm located in Central Jersey btw.

    I started doing some troubleshooting on my EVO, but I'm hoping it's more of a service issue that I'll just have to wait out...
     

    Advertisement

  2. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    It is a service issue, and it's already being worked on my Sprint. My service has already been restored.
     
  3. ODog2323

    ODog2323 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    510
    41
    68
    NJ, USA
    Was your 3G indicator disappearing like it had been turned off? That's what's making me worry that it's an issue with the phone, but with so many people talking about service trouble today, I don't know it could still be a coincidence...
     
  4. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Yes.

    http://androidforums.com/sprint/214828-sprint-users-chicago.html
     
  5. ODog2323

    ODog2323 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    510
    41
    68
    NJ, USA
    I see it's been resolved for many, but I got up this morning and have still been seeing this problem. I did the factory reset (ugh) and I don't think the mobile net has cut off since (haven't even set up wifi yet). I've been leaning on 3G all morning with no issues...fingers crossed.

    Now waiting to see if MyBackup Pro was worth the 5 bucks :)
     
  6. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,233
    876
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    I heard Sprint was having some data issues last week in some parts (midwest, I think). I read an article on Androidcentral that said Sprint had everything back up as of yesterday evening.

    No probelms in Phoenix, for me!

    Let me/us know how your backup experience goes, please. Been thinking of something like that myself. Thanks!
     
  7. ODog2323

    ODog2323 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    510
    41
    68
    NJ, USA
  8. K4KAI

    K4KAI Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    135
    12
    38
    Finally Retired
    Reno, Nevada
    Well, was it worth it?
     
  9. ODog2323

    ODog2323 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    510
    41
    68
    NJ, USA
    Well, I still think 5 bucks is kinda steep for most apps, but I'm still glad I grabbed it because of the trouble it saved me.

    If I end up pulling the trigger on rooting though I'd probably switch to titanium based on what I've been reading.
     

Share This Page

Loading...