• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

3G EVO + Verizon = When?

ScubaCA

Jul 29, 2010
I have searched and searched to find if a 3G only EVO or another non-4G version of the EVO will be released on Verizon? Does Anybody know? What are they calling it? Does it even exist? When will they release it?

I like the Droid X but I don't want all that Motorola Blur crap that they tend to throw on, plus I really like the front facing camera on the EVO.

I am coming from a Blackberry (because they suck) so I am new to the Android thing and lookin' for some help.

Maybe they'll build a CDMA flavor of the Galaxy S for VZW. I see AT&T is now bragging that it's coming to AT&T.

<edit>Yup, it's coming:</edit>

From http://www.cnet.com/8301-19736_1-20008968-251.html

'Samsung Fascinate for Verizon: The Fascinate is Verizon's first Android phone from Samsung. As with most of the Galaxy S models, Samsung powers the smartphone with a 1GHz Hummingbird processor, and it will have a 5-megapixel camera with HD video capture and it will launch with Android version 2.1. Like the Epic, the Fascinate also has a 4-inch Super AMOLED display; however, the Fascinate will be a touch-only device with the option of a regular virtual keyboard or Swype. In addition, the smartphone has a six-axis sensor--as does the Epic--that works with the built-in accelerometer for a better gaming experience.