1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 3G going out for no reason!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jake86us, Apr 30, 2012.

  1. jake86us

    jake86us Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Is anyone out there having problems with there Motorola Bionic phone with the 3G going out with no reason? I have had Verizon to replace it 3 or 4 times now, is this common with this phone?




    thanks,
    Jake
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,006
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,006
    4,973
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    What version of the system are you on ... it should be 5.9.902.

    I am in a 3G area and twice went through a two-week period where I would just loose 3G. It would be out for a while and then come back. This happened and happened and happened. After two weeks of this it suddenly stopped as abruptly as it had started.

    I concluded hat they were working on the tower that was servicing my area.

    Noone at Verizon knew anything about it when I asked.

    There are other classical data drop issues. If they swapped the phone did they give you a new SIM card. If no, get a replacement SIM card installed.

    ... Thom
     
  3. headmizan

    headmizan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    17
    2
    16
    I was having a lot of problems today with both 3G and 4G in the Milwaukee area. I checked with Verizon and they said they were having network issues today and that they expected to resolve the problem in the next 24-48 hours.
     
  4. jake86us

    jake86us Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    The verison of my phone is 5.9.904
     
  5. GBB0131

    GBB0131 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    25
    9
    16
    Chattanooga, TN
    I was having issues with 4G here in the Chattanooga market yesterday as well.
     
  6. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,006
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,006
    4,973
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I assume you are running the leaked 5.9.904. If you returned to 5.9.902 you could get support from Verizon/Motorola.

    If you are running 5.9.904 through some test program with Motorola then you should be talking to them about your problem.

    The issues prior to 5.9.902 revolved around ...

    Tower upgrades going on around the country.
    Software glitches switching from 3G to 4G and 4G to 3G.
    Some inconsistencies in SIM cards.

    If they never replaced the SIM card in your four Bionics I think it is worth a try.

    If it was already done then ask if other people in your area are having the same problem.

    There are a few people who have surfaced who have a body chemistry that is inconsistent with the Bionic. That is the longest shot put still a possible explanation.

    ... Thom
     
  7. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,889
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,889
    6,120
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    Is updating your PRL an option (dialing *228), or is that still frying SIMs?
     
  8. Deanie

    Deanie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    146
    7
    56
    Middletown, Maryland
    I was still having data drop/switching issues, but I didn't want any of the replacement phones Verizon offered. I spoke to motorola support and they recommended a sim card swap. I did that a couple weeks ago. So far I haven't had data drop issues....yet, but I am having other issues. Not sure it's Sim card related.
     
  9. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,006
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,006
    4,973
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I have never heard of that in relation to the Bionic. I don't know how it relates to a data drop issue.

    The one thing they apparently had not tried was a new SIM card.

    When you're on your fifth Bionic and are having the same problem it seems highly likely that the problem is not the Bionic (I can think of two cases discussed here where it was an inconsistency between the Bionic and the user's body chemistry).

    ... Thom
     
  10. Deanie

    Deanie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    146
    7
    56
    Middletown, Maryland
    I thought you were joking, really.
     
  11. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    12,006
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,006
    4,973
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    In one case he would type on the standard keyboard and it would insert extra characters. Handing the Bionic to another person who typed exactly the same thing and it did not insert the extra characters.

    I looked at the stylus for the new mini/pad phone. It is much smaller than mine and is strictly pressure. When I used the term capacitive stylus when describing my Bionic stylus to a phone repair person he looked at me oddly and said ... what's that?

    ... Thom
     
  12. stefanielynn83

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012

    Apr 11, 2012
    18
    3
    16
    PA
    This happens to me often ..... it was the reason I got rid of my Thunderbolt and now I'm having the same issue with the Bionic. Although not nearly as frequently, but still annoying.
     
  13. bmuzzall

    bmuzzall Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 13, 2012

    May 13, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    My mom is on her second Bionic, the battery on her first phone would die after about 2 hours. She returned it to Best Buy and received a second phone. The battery on it is doing the same thing so she returned to the store and they changed some settings on it to see if it would help the battery issue but they have not. I was going to look at it and see if any of the settings on her phone were different than the settings on my phone. Well 3G is not working on her phone and I know that there is no problem with the 3G in this area because my wife and I both have the Bionic and our 3G is working fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...