1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support 3G issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TFroehlich4368, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. TFroehlich4368

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    69
    8
    16
    PC Tech
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Hello everyone,
    I bought an Admire and I'm in a 4G zone with and I'm only getting a 1x signal which is roaming isnt it? I should be getting 3G right? This internet and everything is super slow and it wont even connect to the Play Store. Can someone help me out with this? Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. dadcup

    dadcup Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    834
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012

    Jan 29, 2012
    834
    232
    103
    That you update your prl by calling #228
     
  3. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,929
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6,929
    2,687
    533
    Male
    Detroit,Michigan
    No it's not considered roaming at all. Some places just have poor coverage(towers) so you can't get a good speeds:(
    Try these to see if it improves:
    Try what dadcup said above- *228 & choose option 5

    If that doesn't improve it use dadcup's handy dandy guide
    http://androidforums.com/admire-all-things-root/494248-how-boost-3g-stock-2-3-4-a.html

    Other people have said on here that 3g is weak up that way before but it should increase it some.:)
     
  4. awesomeofsauce

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    301
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    301
    40
    43
    A human
    In your TV...
    1xRTT is "2G" not roaming. The Samsung Admire can only get 1x and 3G. If you haven't already, you can update your PRL by dialing *228 and pressing 5. If you don't see a 3G icon still, then Metro PCS must not have 3G in your area.
     
  5. qandres12

    qandres12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,360
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    1,360
    211
    143
    Male
    this is the site i use when i want to check what type of network there is in an area, and for me the site is pretty spot on. my speeds increase drastically when in those areas.
    Coverage Maps | Sensorly
     
  6. TFroehlich4368

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    69
    8
    16
    PC Tech
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    I tried to dial *228 but it said "activation failed" or something along those lines.
     
  7. gbiggie

    gbiggie La patience et le pardon
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,929
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    6,929
    2,687
    533
    Male
    Detroit,Michigan
    Its wiggy sometimes and you can't get through-try again in a little bit.
    What prl are you on currently ?
    Settings-about phone will show you.
     
  8. TFroehlich4368

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    69
    8
    16
    PC Tech
    Kalamazoo, Michigan

    Alright, I will try later on even though I tried this about a week ago when I got the phone. Also I will get the current PRL when I go on my lunch break, I'm currently at work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...