1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 3G issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hatredoflord, Jul 21, 2012.

  1. Hatredoflord

    Hatredoflord Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    10
    1
    36
    Male
    Brandenton, Florida
    I want to start off by saying hi, Im new. Now to my problem at hand. I have a Samsung Galaxy Precendent (rooted). The other day I decided to toggle my 3G network off, why? I don't know. Wish I haven't now. I've been living at my place of residents for about 7 months and never had a problem with my 3G network until about 2 days ago when I turned it off. When I turned it back on, It never came back on. I've restarted my phone several times and even did a factory reset and still nothing. I called my provider (Straight talk) and they told me it's because I'm not in there service area. My wife has the same phone as I and she has not problems with her phone coverage. If someone could please help me it would be great. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. GArunner

    GArunner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 29, 2012

    May 29, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    That is terrible! Did you try taking the battery out then wait about 5 minutes - then put battery back in? I had trouble with sending and receiving pictures with texts. I called the help line and it took 3 hours but we fixed it.

    That should not happen! It is suggested to turn off the 3G when not in use to save battery life.
     
  3. Hatredoflord

    Hatredoflord Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    10
    1
    36
    Male
    Brandenton, Florida
    Yes I've done all of that and I was on the phone with the help line as well for 3 hours and they told me there's nothing they can for me they even tried updating my profile and still nothing :/
     
  4. corrupt1

    corrupt1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012

    Aug 4, 2012
    4
    3
    6
    Have you tried connecting to wifi, while 3G was enabled. Make sure it connects to the wifi, then turn off your wifi connection to kick in the automatic change over back to 3G. Just a thought. If this doesn't work have you tried going back to stock settings.
     
  5. Hatredoflord

    Hatredoflord Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    10
    1
    36
    Male
    Brandenton, Florida
    Thanks for all the help but mysteriously it started working again *sighs* phones :c
     
  6. bmcdaniel

    bmcdaniel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    My phone is being kind of ridiculous at the moment. I never even turned off the 3G, it just went away. I've had it since early March, and ever since then I've been able to connect to 3G, so I know it's not like, 3G isn't covering my area. I have a few friends with the same phone and theirs work just fine. I have to use wifi in order to get on Facebook, Twitter, etc., but there's not really a good signal at my home. I've tried calling the phone company about this for literally the past two weeks and it always tells me to call back later. Is there anything I can do myself to fix this? It's unrooted by the way.
     
  7. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,893
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Get closer to your router or move your router closer to where you use your phone. (If you're relying on someone else's wifi signal, don't. Aside from the problems you have, like a weak signal, it's very illegal.)
     

Share This Page

Loading...