1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 3G Nexus 7 - Gray Bars?!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Stigy, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. Stigy

    Stigy Some say...
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,100
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    4,100
    3,023
    413
    Male
    So my boss got a Nexus 7 over the weekend and for some reason we cannot seem to get "blue bars" on the device and it cannot connect to Play Store, etc.

    The lockscreen reads AT&T so I know the SIM is in there and its reading it correctly AND it has 4 gray bars with the H (HSPA+) icon over top of it, but whatever we do we can't seem to get blue bars.

    Aside from wiping the device, which will be my last suggestion - any other ideas of something we can try?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,647
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,647
    3,553
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Have you tried re-entering the AT&T apn settings? This could have some effect on it...
     
  3. Stigy

    Stigy Some say...
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,100
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    4,100
    3,023
    413
    Male
    Yup tried entering custom one I found online as well as doing a "Reset to default" in the APN Settings menu.
     
  4. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,701
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,701
    34,088
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Do the bars go blue when connect via WiFi? the Grey bars mean there is signal, but it's not connecting. I'm not sure how the activation goes with AT&T, but you could give them a call and see if it's something on their end.
     
  5. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    498
    96
    53
    Seattle
    I keep reading that, but I'm looking at my N7 right now (on WiFi) with grey bars and navigating in the Play Store no problem.

    It's it's always grey at work and always blue at home. I have no idea why.
     
  6. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,701
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,701
    34,088
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Hmmm....:hmmmm2:

    I only have a WIFI N7 so maybe this is something new. Does it sync with the Gray bars? Grey/white bars have in the past meant you were connected but unable to communicate with Google's services.:thinking:
     
  7. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    498
    96
    53
    Seattle
    This also happens with my GNex. Grey at work and blue at home. Everything syncs.
     
  8. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,701
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,701
    34,088
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    My GNex is Blue at work, blue at home. I'm on VZW. Which carrier are you on?
     
  9. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    498
    96
    53
    Seattle
    Considering that this is WiFi, does it matter? Sprint, if it does.
     
  10. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,701
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,701
    34,088
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Just curious. It's odd as I've never seen that and wasn't sure if GSM acted differently than CDMA/LTE.
     
  11. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    498
    96
    53
    Seattle
    Just to verify that it was actually syncing, I just opened settings, accounts, google and manually synced everything. 13 items in the list synced. 2 new gmail messages popped up. Gray bars.
     
  12. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,701
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,701
    34,088
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    I hope you didn't think I doubted you Alki, just something I've never seen before.:)
     
  13. Stigy

    Stigy Some say...
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,100
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    4,100
    3,023
    413
    Male
    Problem solved - he never got a data plan with AT&T.

    Chalk one up for a d'oh moment - thanks all!
     
  14. Teknologic

    Teknologic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    969
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    969
    93
    98
    Male
    Belgium
    The reason some people report blue at home and grey at work is because most office network probably have most non-standard network ports blocked/closed and a typical home network is open to all applications.
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  15. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    498
    96
    53
    Seattle
    No worries. I didn't think that.
     
  16. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    498
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    498
    96
    53
    Seattle
    Then it is the firewall. But then that begs the question... why is it syncing when the bars are grey?
     

Share This Page

Loading...