1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 3G plan or 4G LTE plan on AT&T?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tarsierspectra, Nov 27, 2011.

  1. tarsierspectra

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    66
    5
    16
    I am about get the AT&T data plan but which one works do I need to choose to work with the Note? The 3G plan or the 4G LTE plan?
     

    Advertisement

  2. KoukiFC3S

    KoukiFC3S Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    881
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009

    Aug 9, 2009
    881
    85
    78
    CA
    The medianet for dumbphones works great.
     
  3. nb_mitch

    nb_mitch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    604
    42
    88
    Male
    DB2 DBA
    Florida
    Either should work, but the bigger question is what is available in your area? Why get a 4G plan if you don't have it in your area, unless the price is the same.

    In my case, I currently have a 200MB 3G plan and use about 50MB/month as I spend 95% of my time in a wifi area. I could almost go wifi only except for a few cases when I use it on the go.
     
  4. tarsierspectra

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    66
    5
    16
    The price is the same. They don't seem to have 200MB 3G plan any more
    I was going to get 250MB for $14.99
     
  5. PyleStyle

    PyleStyle Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011

    Nov 25, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    You should get verification first that the phone will actually work with AT&T 3G. I've seen several people here post that it's only 2G with AT&T and I confirmed that with an AT&T rep over chat yesterday.

    However, the phone stats say HSDPA which should mean that it will work with AT&T 3G.

    What I'm looking for is confirmation from an actual owner that they are getting at least 3G speeds in the US on AT&T.
     
  6. tarsierspectra

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    66
    5
    16
    Pretty much everyone here confirmed that they are getting 3G speeds. The AT&T reps don't know anything.
     
  7. PyleStyle

    PyleStyle Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011

    Nov 25, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I'm porting this info over from another forum. Based on this and other semi-confirmations, I just bought it from Amazon for $735 ($755 after overnight shipping). According to this guy it doesn't just work out of the box on 3G but you have to go through these steps. I'll let you know if it works when I try it myself:

    OK...here's the deal on 2G/3G. When I bought the phone, I took the T-mobile chip out of my Nexus S and put it in the Galaxy Note. It worked right away, only though in 2G. A week ago, I went into an AT&T store. I have a family plan (for my wife and others) and told the clerk I wanted to be added onto the plan. When I showed him the phone (he had never seen a GalaxyNote), he told me it would only work in 2G. I added myself to the plan anyway and bought the AT&T sim chip and activated my phone.

    "Now, the AT&T guy was wrong. This phone, which I got from the UK, DOES work on 3G. What you have to do is tell the phone to look for the AT&T APN (Access Point Name). It's easy...here's how...

    SETTINGS>>>WIRELESS AND NETWORKS>>>MOBILE NETWORKS>>>ACCESS POINT NAMES>>>hit menu and add apn...NAME:AT&T...APN:wap.cingular,PASSWORD: CINGULAR1 (in CAPS).

    Now turn off your wireless connection so you can watch your phone light up with 3G goodness. That's all there is to it. You're welcome."
     
  8. tarsierspectra

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    66
    5
    16
  9. tarsierspectra

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    66
    5
    16
    Yes, I know you have to set it up to make it work on ATT 3G. I am getting my Note on Tuesday. My original questions was should I get the 4G or 3G plan???? The cost is the same.
     
  10. Fred G. Vader

    Fred G. Vader Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011

    Oct 20, 2011
    169
    33
    43
    Programmer by day; Sith Lord by night
    Tatooinne - WEST SIIIDE!!
    I'm not on AT&T so take this with a grain of salt; At&t's 4G LTE service is only available in a limited number of major cities (something like 6 or 7 major cities). I'm going to guess that it's not available in your neck of the woods. So you would do best to go with the 3G plan. I would think that HSPA+ would still be available to you on the 3G plan but that's just a guess. Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will weigh in on the matter.
     
  11. tarsierspectra

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    66
    5
    16
    Looks like it is available in my city. Just curious what the difference is between 4G and 4G LTE
     
  12. GalaxyNexus

    GalaxyNexus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011

    Nov 12, 2011
    547
    124
    293
    Male
    LifeGuard, Weight Lifter
    Bikini Bottom
    Let me just say this. My LTE speeds are faster than my Fios high speed Internet package at home.:)
     
    Jesse S likes this.
  13. ronhoney

    ronhoney Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010

    Aug 13, 2010
    22
    3
    16
    Northern VA
    Pretty sure the Euro model doesn't have an LTE radio in it & the recently announced South Korean LTE model has LTE radio in the 850MHz range. AT&T's LTE is in the 700 MHz range like Verizon's (although in a different sub-band). So, bottom line is that no Note that is currently out will not work on any US LTE plan. 2G/3G is the best ya can do. I'm holding out to see if they put out an LTE model for the US market; I've already told Verizon, I'm leaving if some other carrier comes out with a US LTE model 1st.
     
  14. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,756
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2,756
    554
    313
    Male
    Jr. I.T. Support Tech @ Amazon
    Plainfield, Indiana
    If this phone has HSPA+ then you need to get the 4g plan, there is a difference between the 4g plan and LTE 4g plan. I was on a 3g plan for my Galaxy Nexus on AT&T and was still seeing the H symbol but was seeing moderate speeds. I changed my plan to the 4g one, not the LTE one. Now I am seeing significantly better speeds in the same area.
     
  15. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243

    "Need" is relative...$15/mo. "MediaNet" plan is fine for upwards of 4Mbps in my area.
     
  16. tarsierspectra

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    66
    5
    16
    What speeds should I expect on 4G (HSPA+)
     
  17. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,756
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2,756
    554
    313
    Male
    Jr. I.T. Support Tech @ Amazon
    Plainfield, Indiana
    Yes that would be fine, but the Galaxy Nexus has been getting flagged under that plan and hasn't been working. So it won't work. I said need because they were asking about the 3g plan. So he would need the 4g plan, same price so it would make sense to get the 4g plan for the price.

    But yes the medianet plan worked on the international SG2, but not working on the Nexus unfortunately.
     
  18. popcycle4

    popcycle4 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I believe you got 3g because you have the family plan. I bought SIM and only got edge.
     
  19. unwantedx10

    unwantedx10 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    Only 2G on T-mobile because T mobile only runs HSDPA 1700.
     
  20. mpw

    mpw Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,143
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    1,143
    130
    143
    the past
    Was impressed that my 3G note is achieving 7.5Mb/s; far better than my old phone, and even more impressively much better than my home broadband from the same telco(in Europe)
     
  21. RockyAndroid

    RockyAndroid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I just brought a unlocked Samsung note. I have at&t media net on my old phone N8. I took out the 3G Sim card and put it in the Samsung Note, I don't have internet and text messaging. However, I can received and make calls on the phone. Is the problem the sim card? 3G v 4G. Please help. Thanks.
     
  22. RockyAndroid

    RockyAndroid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I have media net on my old phone. I took out the sim card 3G and put it in my new Samsung Note I did not get internet or text messaging connectivity. Is the problem the sim card? 3G v 4G? Please advise. Thanks
     
  23. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    Depends...are the APN settings on the Note the same as those on your old phone?
     
  24. RockyAndroid

    RockyAndroid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012

    Mar 12, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I have media net on my N8 and it works like a charm. I purchased a unlock samsung note from Amazon and installed the At&T 3 G sim card. I can receive and made calls but I do not have internet or text messaging. Can the problem is the sim card? 3G v 4G. Please help me. Thanks. Rocky
     
  25. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,592
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,592
    363
    273
    California
    How bout this: I've had my unlimited plan since I had my iphony 3G. Currently I have a hspa+ device (LG Thrill). If I get the Galaxy note and stick my simcard in would I get 4G LTE in a LTE city even though I don't have a LTE plan or simcard?
     

Share This Page

Loading...