1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 3G Service 35KBS!?!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by scoobysnack, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. scoobysnack

    scoobysnack Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    68
    39
    23
    Hey guys trying out TMobile for the first time. Very impressed when the service shows "H" as far as speeds go. However near my home (4-5 Miles) when it switches to "G" my speeds are at 30-45KBS Down and similar Up.

    Is this just typical shitty TMobile Service? I have almost full signal strength while it shows G as well.....

    Called customer service rep at TMobile whom were totally useless.

    Any chance the OTA will help?

    Thanks for any suggestions,
    -Scoob
     

    Advertisement

  2. dasudevil

    dasudevil Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009

    Sep 22, 2009
    609
    45
    88
    Forklift driver for Frito Lay
    Gilbert, Arizona
    I have the same scores when at home. Its crappy at my house however everywhere else its H about 97% of the time.
     
  3. pantlesspenguin

    pantlesspenguin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    649
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    649
    107
    113
    Female
    Overland Park, KS
    G stands for GPRS which is the lowest speeds in the T-Mobile data chain. I only see GPRS when I'm out in the sticks, & even then it's not all the time. Usually when I'm outside of a populated area I'm still on EDGE.

    In terms of speed, it goes: HSPA+, 3G, EDGE, & GPRS.


    Edited to add: If you consistantly see GPRS, then perhaps T-Mobile isn't the carrier for you. Or, you could just switch to a wifi connection when @ home.
     
  4. Grove86

    Grove86 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    California
    same thing here...at home i have H but whenever i pick up myphone...in the next 30seconds or so it'll drop down to edge and then gprs...Weird that I never actually even see 3G
     
  5. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,224
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    1,224
    84
    128
    The worst I ever gotten has been edge. This isn't really a software issue but t-mobile needing more cell towers. quite odd how you still get Gprs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...