1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips 3G Surfing

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by batfinkgtr, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. batfinkgtr

    batfinkgtr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    19
    1
    16
    Hi,

    Got my tab 10.1 at the weekend, just the 3G version as I didn't want a contract for it. However, is it possible to connect a USB mobile internet dongle?? Can the USB connection kit have this attached to it instead.

    I have mobile internet with a dongle as part of my business mobile contract, so was sort of hoping it would work. No biggie if not, perhaps I could use my mobile phone as the web access point(An HTC Desire HD)

    Be useful to hear of others views on this.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. bfksc

    bfksc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,262
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    1,262
    201
    143
    Canada
    I guess you meant WiFi version, but I'm not sure if it'll work or not. It might, but 3G dongles are usually designed for laptops/netbooks with Windows installed. I would try before buying.
    That's why I opted for the 3G version. I had the ASUS Transformer but using the hotspot on my phone really killed the phone's battery. The 3G Tab is much better on the battery and I have a connection all the time, so it's always up to date and ready to use. If you have an AC or DC plug available to keep your phone charged, it might not be an issue for you.

    I also bought an inexpensive TPU gel case (just like a gel case for phones) to protect it from scatches, something the Transformer didn't have available, which makes it easier to hold too. My tablet is in and out of my hands a lot so a quick and easy access case along with a constant internet connection was essential for me.
     
  3. rumbataz

    rumbataz Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I agree with the above. With the dongle you might have an issue with drivers. Much better to get the 3G version from the outset if you can.
     
  4. batfinkgtr

    batfinkgtr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    19
    1
    16
    Ok thanks for the info. Yeah, I meant I got the wi-fi version. Couldnt get the 3G version without signing up to a data account, and didn't fancy that. But as I have a data account with my phone, I thought maybe that was an option.

    Like I said, its no biggie, and I will have wi-fi available most of the time.

    Cheers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...