1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

3G Toggle Widget (1x1)-- Recommendations?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by mallinj, May 29, 2010.

  1. mallinj

    mallinj Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    100
    8
    56
    Attorney and Blogger
    Detroit
    I have an Incredible and Sense comes with an HTC 3G 1x1 toggle widget that I like. However, I am seriously considering switching to LauncherPro instead of Sense. I'm in need of a replacement for that widget. Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. nightfishing

    nightfishing Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    588
    111
    93
    beautiful widgets comes with one
     
    mallinj likes this.
  3. v1nsai

    v1nsai Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    60
    3
    16
    Apndroid is what you wamt. It's even open source ;)
     
  4. Busha

    Busha Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    61
    3
    16
    Croatia
    I search for an app that toggles between 2G and 3G network just by 1 tap, is there any app that can do this ? APNDroid disables data traffic completely but I want to toggle between type of network because of the battery.
     
  5. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    Sorry, but where is this widget in HTC sense?
     
  6. galfwender

    galfwender Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    36
    14
    18
    Extended Controls Bar can do this. You can add it as a 1x1 widget, or as part of a larger tool bar.
     
  7. mallinj

    mallinj Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    100
    8
    56
    Attorney and Blogger
    Detroit
    When you add a Widget, go to Settings -> Mobile Network.

    To the suggester of APNDroid, I believe it won't work with the Incredible because Incredible is CDMA, not GSM.
     
  8. mallinj

    mallinj Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    100
    8
    56
    Attorney and Blogger
    Detroit
    Sweet package of widgets at a bargain price but I couldn't find any data toggle.. everything but, it seems.
     
  9. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    I know that, but I think you are confusing terms then.

    Your first post references a 3G toggle widget.

    But, here you are saying to use the Mobile Network widget.

    That'll cut off all internet, not just 3G.

    So there is no 3G toggle widget then or is there?
     
  10. mallinj

    mallinj Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    100
    8
    56
    Attorney and Blogger
    Detroit
    You are right. I meant a Mobile Network widget... something that will cut all internet to save battery and reenable on a click.
     
  11. galfwender

    galfwender Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    36
    14
    18
    I'm really not sure exactly what you want to do, but I'm sure Extended Controls Bar has a widget for it.

    2G-3G - Switches between the two
    Data Network - Enable or disable APN
    Wifi - Enable/disable WiFi
    Airplane Mode - Enable/disable ALL wireless including GSM/CDMA, 2G, 3G, WiFi, Bluetooth

    And a bunch more.
     
    mallinj likes this.
  12. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    I'll might try out Extended Controls. Looks interesting.
     
  13. mallinj

    mallinj Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    100
    8
    56
    Attorney and Blogger
    Detroit
    Good app. Thanks for the recommendation and clarifying the terminology. I need a 1 x 1 widget that enables or disables APN (Data Network). The Extended Controls Bar doesn't APN toggle doesn't seem to work on the Incredible, unfortunately.. hmph.

    Sorry to drag this thread out so long.
     
  14. v1nsai

    v1nsai Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    60
    3
    16
    Google doesn't allow switching between 2g/3g with the current sdk. The HTC widget OP was talking about might be an exception since its part of the phone UI, but all apps are able to do is bring up the settings screen so you can change it from there.
     
    mallinj likes this.
  15. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    I just tried extended control and noticed the same thing.

    How is he even calling it a 2G/3G button when it just brings up a settings screen, that, as far as I can tell, doesn't even have any option to switch between 2G/3G!?
     
  16. mallinj

    mallinj Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    100
    8
    56
    Attorney and Blogger
    Detroit
    In that case, I'm done looking. :) Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...