1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

3UK 2.1 update news

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Anthoni Gardner, Jul 9, 2010.

  1. Anthoni Gardner

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    Disability
    Leeds, UK
    Hello,

    Just wondering if anyone has got the 2.1 update on the 3 network in the UK yet?

    Obviously if no one else has it who is on 3 I would presume it's not out. It's just that I hear a lot of people now talking about upgrading to 2.1 and was curious if was out mine :p

    Not too fussed if not, I can wait, just be nice to know.

    Regards
    Anthoni
     

    Advertisement

  2. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    There's been no word that I'm aware of, Anthoni.

    Hope you don't mind me retitling your thread, but it seemed an ideal choice as a place to gather info. Hopefully other 3 users can chime in if/when they have news.
     
  3. Maelacuna

    Maelacuna Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    1
    1
    6
    greedoe likes this.
  4. Anthoni Gardner

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    Disability
    Leeds, UK
    Nope, re-title away if it helps others.
    Be nice to hear what other 3UKers have to say about the subject :)
     
  5. nibor

    nibor Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    11
    7
    16
    Ill expect it late july !! but not getting my hopes up
     
  6. n0v

    n0v Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    62
    2
    16
    I did the upgrade mentioned on this forum, works fine on my 3 phone.

    n0v
     
  7. Russ.htchero

    Russ.htchero Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    28
    1
    36
    Telecom Engineer
    England
    They assure me it will be released SOON I have had no response clarifying mid-late july rumours.

    I'm expecting it to be downloaded from their website.

    Trying to get an answer was like pulling teeth.

    I'd say more first few weeks of August.
     
  8. rachelisadog

    rachelisadog Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    48
    10
    18
    For those on 3, i'd seriously consider doing Moko76's method.
    It's painless, relatively easy and works a treat on "3" handsets.
    Make sure you give yourself around 2 hours (won't take that long but you really should take your time), back up your handset, your sms messages and go for it.
    I did and happy with the results one week on
     
    shepo, slater143 and Russ.htchero like this.
  9. Russ.htchero

    Russ.htchero Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    28
    1
    36
    Telecom Engineer
    England
    I COULD KISS YOU​


    On my way currently updating via wireless

    HAVE SOME 3 YA CRAP NETWORK​

    Do it its easy guys
     
    rachelisadog likes this.
  10. rachelisadog

    rachelisadog Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    48
    10
    18
    Happy then Russ? :)
    It was all down to Moko's guide and the patience of those who helped me last week when i did mine, particularly DexKen and Slug who helped me out when i got into a bit of a mess due to 3 doing maintenance work!
    Pleased you're sorted though :)
     
  11. steve/

    steve/ Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    19
    0
    35
    I have an unlocked phone so got my update from HTC. I do have a 3 payg sim though and since updating to 2.1 my Skype on 3 has stopped working.

    I'm hoping this gets fixed when 3 do their update so will keep an eye on this thread.

    I emailed the developers of Skype on 3 app to let them know there is a problem, no response as yet.
     
  12. jonous101

    jonous101 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    87
    2
    16
    Sheffield, UK
    i have a sim free hero on 3 uk - just wondering how you got the upgrade? i've checked htc website and the only thing under support is the upgrade for belgium, well i'm in the uk?
    this is really confusing lol.
     
  13. steve/

    steve/ Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    19
    0
    35
    Hi Jonous,

    I got the first part of the upgrade by setting the date forward 2 weeks on my phone and it came up automatically, one of the features of this first upgrade is you then have an option to search for further updates which I did to get the upgrade to 2.1

    My understanding is that anyone in the uk with an unlocked phone should be able to update now, It is the people who are tied to a network who have to wait for the network to release the update.
     
  14. jonous101

    jonous101 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    87
    2
    16
    Sheffield, UK
    Thanks Steve/ - did u lose owt with the update? i will change my date now :)
     
  15. jonous101

    jonous101 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    87
    2
    16
    Sheffield, UK
    Steve/ i've changed my date to August 2010 - nothing is coming through :(
     
  16. steve/

    steve/ Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    19
    0
    35
    The only thing I noticed that was lost was some notes I had made on 3banana and i could probably find them if I was worried as I made a back up first. everything else was fine.

    Can't help as to why you are not getting the update through, sorry
     
  17. greedoe

    greedoe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    Project Manager
    London
    i'm on 3 uk and getting more and more annoyed the update isn't out.

    i'm GOING to wait to see if its worth it, but the second the Froyo update has been hacked to work on the Hero, 3 can [removed by Mod]
     
  18. b1jc

    b1jc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010

    Feb 28, 2010
    4
    0
    5
  19. stoney73

    stoney73 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  20. greedoe

    greedoe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    Project Manager
    London
    sorry... the 2.1 update. should have been clear. that link lists a ROM update from January. I'd hardly say the 2.1 update is out with that as the evidence.
     
  21. stoney73

    stoney73 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    2.1 for hero's on three only if they are unbranded. Still some time to pass before it comes to three natively.
     
  22. Russ.htchero

    Russ.htchero Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    28
    1
    36
    Telecom Engineer
    England
    It works and is pretty easy to do the whole process takes about 1hr45mins, you need to back-up all your data and apps I recommend something like mybackup PRO,then follow the steps detailed in the above guide (here) and you will have 2.1 before the weekend.

    Wait for three and you could be waiting till new year...I spoke to them two weeks ago and they said they didn't have it....

    You don't know what your missing out on, google goggles free sat nav, better signal list is endless, do it you won't regret it.
     
  23. Geejay

    Geejay Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    21
    1
    16
    Manchester, UK
    Personally I'm prepared to wait a few more weeks for the official 3 upgrade. I genuinely don't think it'll be that long now. I think this link to the 3 blog from upthread is worth repeating....The HTC Hero with Spotify
     
  24. tisme

    tisme Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    hi all debranded yesterday, should have done it weeks ago ,no probs at all thanks to moko . loving my new hero
     
  25. frank pole

    frank pole Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    28
    0
    35
    What version is current on the 3 network? and is it that far behind 2.1?;)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...