1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 4.0.3 nothing but problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kenrob2037, May 6, 2012.

  1. kenrob2037

    kenrob2037 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Hello Everyone,

    My Android mobile instaled 4.0.3 last week and it's been nothing but problems since.

    1. Most apps do not work properly. They will not connect to the internet through 3G. Some do, most dont. Some work on Wi-Fi some dont.
    2. Syncs stopped working
    3. Page sizes have all expanded when using email, Internet or app. Now nothing fits on the screen.
    4. Apps that worked fine on older version now do not work on 4.0.3
    5. My partner has the same phone. Galaxy S II, she has almost exact same problems. Though she is with a different ISP
    6. Can anyone help.
    Cheers

    Rob
     

    Advertisement

  2. Covart

    Covart Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    720
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    720
    154
    93
    Male
    I take it you are in Canada? Those of us in the U.S. with the S2 and Skyrocket haven't received the official update yet. Wish I could help you out. Hopefully, there is a smart person with a similar phone and in your country to assist.
     
    kenrob2037 likes this.
  3. Xterminat

    Xterminat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    9
    2
    26
    Computer Technician / Network Admin
    Melbourne, Australia
    Hi there Rob,

    See if you can do a backup via Kies to your Computer and then do a Factory Reset of your phone. Then restore your backup to your phone. I am having a simular problem but I can't seem to get Kies to connect to my phone at the moment but my brother who has the same phone suggested this and apparently his phone is working a treat since that has happened.

    Cheers

    Mark
     
    kenrob2037 and damewolf13 like this.
  4. kenrob2037

    kenrob2037 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I'm in Australia. I thought I would have found hundreds of complaints from people, but I can't find many.

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  5. kenrob2037

    kenrob2037 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Hi Mark,

    I might save that as a last resort. I just had my mobile the way I wanted it too. Why can't they give us the option of not installing these things?

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  6. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,889
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,889
    6,120
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    Rob, it looks like a lot of phones are having problems updating to ICS. The SGS2 and Sensation in particular. I assume you're still on a stock ROM and not a custom one?
    If you don't mind, I think I'll move this to the SGS2 forum. Those there can help you with more specific problems.
     
  7. Xterminat

    Xterminat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    9
    2
    26
    Computer Technician / Network Admin
    Melbourne, Australia
    Hi there Rob,

    I just removed my simcard from my phone and Kies was able to connect straight away. When I did my backup I tried doing the select all approach but didn't have any luck but was able to work my way down the list and do them one by one. I know I know it was a little bit more tedious but hey it got the job done.

    I will do a factory reset to get my internet / applications working a bit better now.

    Cheers

    Mark
     
  8. kenrob2037

    kenrob2037 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Not a problem.

    cheers

    rob
     
  9. kenrob2037

    kenrob2037 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Hi Mark,

    Cool. Keep me posted on how it goes. I didn't know they phone would work without a SIM.

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  10. Justinyao

    Justinyao Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012

    Apr 27, 2012
    13
    0
    15
    The 4.0.3 may be not perfect now. The battery life became very short after upgraded to 4.0.3.
     
  11. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Not necessarily. Most posters mentioned that the battery took about a week or two of use before settling to something like GB or even better.
     
  12. kenrob2037

    kenrob2037 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Yes, same here on mine and my partners phone. What are they doing? Don't they test these things out.

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  13. jkg

    jkg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012

    Apr 25, 2012
    41
    2
    16
    Male
    Manager
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi Rob,
    Do what Xterminat (Mark) said and do a factory reset of the phone.
    Then reload your contacts, calendar, files. Then go to Google Play and reinstall your apps from scratch.

    This worked for me.

    It looks like the Kies ICS upgrade path reinstalls all the old apps or does something else that mixes up incompatible apps and or data.

    Cheers
    John K
     
    kenrob2037 likes this.
  14. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    Kies is awful at upgrading to ICS and is probably the cause of at least half the issues that stock ICS users are having. It doesn't quite know how to upgrade apps; which ones to keep and which to replace with ICS-compatible ones.

    The best way to upgrade is via Odin using downloaded official firmware, which you can get here. Don't worry, root isn't needed to flash official firmware.
     
    kenrob2037 likes this.
  15. Lukepwd

    Lukepwd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 8, 2012

    May 8, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I have the exact same problem rob. Im from Australia to and ever since i upgraded to 4.0.3 ive had problems. This is my first android phone so i dont know how to do the klies thing or flash it. Does anyone know if there will be another update to fix it. Thanks guys
     
  16. kenrob2037

    kenrob2037 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Does anyone know of an address for Android? I've a truck load of crap I want to send them. Seems fair to me, they send me all their crap.

    I had a good phone, now it's a joke. I'm talking to Virgin that supplied me the phone to see what they can do. I'll let you know if they can help.

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  17. Lukepwd

    Lukepwd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 8, 2012

    May 8, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Haha i want their contact details to. Just to ask em wat going on. My phone keeps popping up with pausing charged voltage to high. This is after its charged the battery icons flashingim the top right corner.
     
  18. atmasters

    atmasters Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    490
    11
    38
    Canada B.C.
    I just updated threw Odin and have had nothing but a great experience so fare. Every time I right this I am afraid I will have a glitch lol but I think you should try the Odin route.
     
  19. bh27

    bh27 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    16
    47
    23
    Yes I'm having massive problems since upgrading my sgs2 on orange to ics. It seems to work better when I don't put my 32gb SD card in there. If I upgrade through ODIN does that mean I will no longer have Samsung Touchwiz? Also will I then lose all my apps and have to download them? Will I keep my text messages? Thanks to anyone that can let me know..
     
  20. Robert Webb

    Robert Webb Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I had thought Kies was supposed to be the standard way to do the upgrade, so I did it that way. At the end it complained about some error and said I needed to do an emergency recovery. I did that, and then it seemed ICS was installed. It even still had all my apps and their data. I read later that over-the-air was the preferable way for SGS2 on Vodafone.

    On bug that seems to have gone away is that android 2.3.6 would reboot on its own every day or two.

    ICS mostly seems to work well. Some apps occasionally freeze and die. I have had a couple of minor problems which probably belong in a new thread.

    Rob (also in Australia).
     
  21. thecorbco

    thecorbco Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012

    May 23, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Also a victim of the upgrade to 4.0.3 myself. Most features and apps work fine, however the email is very unreliable. I recieve emails every few days, rather than instantly, making the email feature almost useless. The Calender and Contacts work fine, so the device is clearly syncing with my server etc....it is just the email which is messy.

    I performed a hard reset (which was painful) and ran through the motions or set up all over again, however the problem persists. I am at a loss.

    My apple iPad functions just fine, so it is not a server issue, it is clearly a device or software issue.

    Any suggestions?
     
  22. menlover

    menlover Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011

    Mar 27, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I have bought S2 5 days ago, and immediately I have upgraded it to 4.0.3.
    It works very smooth and without any issue.
     
  23. orderinchaos

    orderinchaos Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012

    May 23, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Perth, Australia
    I just flashed yesterday via Kies and my experience was mixed. A lot of unnecessary UI changes so I'm having to relearn how to use my phone, I can't manually disable the screen using the power button and they inexplicably rearranged the Swype keyboard. Also the internet app is completely broken and I'm using opera mini to get access. But the previous install had loads of bugs and most of them appear to have gone. I'd love to be able to fix the internet app and fix some of the UI settings but options don't seem to exist to do this.
     
  24. androidn00blet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    are there anyways to remove that Touchwiz user interface that is installed? I really dont' like the skin... im new to android and i already hate it. i switched to android in hope to have ics looks.
     
  25. androidn00blet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    i just wished it was like that galaxy nexus phone. stock android is better i think..... picked up a galaxy s 2 recently and i want out of samsung's prison.
     

Share This Page

Loading...