1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 4.1.2 update has totally KILLED wifi

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GiggityGiggity, Feb 26, 2013.

  1. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    Hey all. I upgraded to 4.1.2 yesterday and noted that straight after it wouldn't connect to the router it always connects to. I rebooted the phone several times, eventually pulling the battery and it finally started working again.

    I went out this morning, came back and the phone simply will not connect to my router. :mad: I know it's not the router as 5 other things I have can connect just fine. After a quick search it seems it's a problem many people are having. It's pointless having this phone with no wifi. How the hell do I roll back to 4.1.1 without rooting? (I'm on a mac, not a pc)
     

    Advertisement

  2. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,313
    Posts:
    19,890
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,890
    6,118
    1,313
    District of Columbia
    Rolling back from an update is next to impossible without rooting.
    Have you tried a factory reset on your phone? Have you tried reseting your home router? Have you been able to connect to any other wifi networks?
     
    ScandaLeX likes this.
  3. Nobby Sheep

    Nobby Sheep Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012

    Sep 19, 2012
    97
    25
    23
    Sorry you've had a problem with the upgrade.

    Have you checked you router settings as I once had my phone on a fixed IP address that was assigned to another device by mistake (family descended with mobiles a plenty) and it took me an hour to figure out why they could connect and I couldn't!

    Alternatively (and I've not done this myself), but post #6 appears to give the relevant details.

    http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-note-2/687561-4-1-2-updated-battery-drain.html
     
  4. SixtyDashOne

    SixtyDashOne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    92
    17
    18
    I would try resetting the router first of all. Sounds like it may be a simple IP conflict.
     
  5. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    Well, I can't fault Samsung for the speed of their reply. Direct from the horses mouth:

    "Old systems settings can be left on the phone after an update occurs, which is why we usually recommend a full factory reset after updating. If this isn’t done your device may begin to give false readings from system resources, or experience technical problems, which may explain the issue you are having.

    We would advise on doing the following, which is designed to reset the settings on your device. Please back up your device using Samsung KIES before you do this.

    1) Remove the battery for at least 40 minutes, put the battery back in and allow it to fully discharge. Afterwards, perform a full battery charge with the device turned off. Do not interrupt the charging process.
    2) After the battery is fully charged, we would like you to perform a full factory reset, which can be done via Settings > Backup > Reset.

    This process will reset your device, remove old system files that are no longer needed and enable your device to operate normally again."

    So, I've done all that and wifi still didn't work. I factory reset a second time and wifi is working again. Now I have to reinstall everything and get the phone back to how I had it (which will take bloody hours). Next time I'm going to search the web to see if the next update causes any problems BEFORE I update.
     
  6. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    And now we're back to it not connecting. This is beyond a joke. I'm on the verge of taking a hammer to this POS.
     
  7. twister6

    twister6 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #122
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    2,228
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    2,228
    909
    223
    As it was asked before, are you able to connect to another wifi network?
     
  8. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
     #139
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,701
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,701
    439
    183
    Agree. If it works fine on other networks, it can be something with the router settings or security that need to be tweaked. Check the router's logs and see if there is something amiss. I know mine at one point failed to release IP addresses. Also another time where my IP address pool and amount of users logged were exceeded. Had to make the appropriate adjustments with the router to get it all working again.
     
  9. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    I don't have access to another wifi network so I can't check. But I'm experiencing exactly the same symptoms that many others have had and it wasn't their routers causing the problem. I'm 99.9% certain it's not my router (which I have reset twice, changed channels on, removed the security settings and several other things, none of which worked). Everything else I have connects just fine and there are no IP or MAC restrictions set up on the router. I'm waiting for another reply from Samsung.
     
  10. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
     #139
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,701
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,701
    439
    183
    Worst case scenario would be that the firmware exposed a critical flaw or incompatibility between hardware/software. Usually hard to tell until it rears its ugly head. Could be drivers/hardware conflict. In which case it will either need to be fixed or replaced. It's happened with the original Note GPS after an ICS update. It happened to a few unfortunate users.
     
  11. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    I would happily root the phone and roll back to 4.1.1 except I have no idea how to do that. Any mention of rooting I've looked at involves using a pc and I'm on a Mac.
     
  12. Liam548

    Liam548 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    403
    23
    38
    Male
    Yorkshire, UK
    Go into your router settings and find your address for your Note 2, delete it and then delete the wi fi connection from your note 2.

    Re connect to your network as if it was a new network like when you first got your phone home, see if that helps.

    Ive had this before with laptops when they update and the router sees the same laptop as a conflict.
     
  13. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    I gave it a go but no joy. Cheers for the suggestion though.
     
  14. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    Right, I managed to test it on 2 other networks and got the same result so now I'm 100% sure it's the phone. I emailed Samsung again and they got back to me this morning. They want me to send it to their main service centre. However, there is a smaller service centre 2 miles from me so I asked if I could take it there. They said I could but warned that as they weren't a main service centre all they would really be able to do is re-flash it.

    I've got nothing to lose so I dropped it in to my local centre. I asked if they could roll it back to 4.1.1 but they said they could only flash newer versions. So they're going to re-flash it with 4.1.2. My pessimistic side thinks that it won't cure the problem but you never know.
     
  15. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    Got the phone back this morning and lo and behold..... it still doesn't work. So, it's off to Samsung. This handset is 5 weeks old, I don't see why they can't send me a replacement so I don't have to be without a phone for who knows how long.
     
  16. bonerp

    bonerp Android Expert
    Rank:
     #173
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,154
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,154
    136
    143
    Project Manager
    UK
    takes about 5 days
     
  17. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    :( This will be the longest time without a mobile phone I've had to deal with since 1996.
     
  18. SLRdude

    SLRdude Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012

    Dec 24, 2012
    49
    37
    23
    Male
    Sr. Manager
    DFW
    I had the same problem after installing the update a couple of months ago or so. Nothing fixed it... Had to a warranty exchange.
     
  19. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
     #139
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,701
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,701
    439
    183
    Did you apply the 4.1.2 update on the exchanged unit? Does it work properly? It'll be interesting to know. Might indicate unit was already defective since day 1 and the update exposed this critical flaw.

    Almost similar to the original ICS update for the original Note. Totally messed up the GPS on some units.
     
  20. bugpack6

    bugpack6 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010

    Dec 9, 2010
    35
    1
    16
    Does anyone know if Samsung is aware of this and will they do an update to fix the wifi issues?????
     
  21. GiggityGiggity

    GiggityGiggity Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    288
    45
    63
    Male
    Professional Waste Of Space
    NW London, UK
    Hey all. Thought I'd post a follow up in case anyone is interested. I posted my phone to Samsung on Fri 1st March and got it back Weds 6th March. They included a letter letting me know what they did. They've replaced the mainboard (the phone was only 5 weeks old!), so I can only assume that although wifi stopped working after I installed the 4.1.2 upgrade, the upgrade itself wasn't the cause of it failing.

    As I said in an earlier post after I did the upgrade the phone wifi wouldn't connect to anything so eventually I pulled the battery and rebooted and it started working fine. It also worked the following day first thing, then later that morning it stopped working completely. I can only assume it would have failed whether I'd done the upgrade or not, but I'm still not convinced the upgrade didn't play a part in it.

    Either way I have my phone back and it's working fine. Nice work Samsung for repairing it so quickly. I have to say though, it's staggering just how much I missed it when it was away. Never again hopefully. :D
     
    PiscesCloud and NeoGrandizer like this.
  22. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
     #139
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,701
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,701
    439
    183
    I'm glad to hear all is in working order. As I have stated, sometimes an update will expose the flaw in the device. It's unfortunate, but it does happen. I guess the bright side of this is that it happened earlier, rather than later. While you're still within your warranty period.

    Thanks for the update. :)
     
  23. BetaMan

    BetaMan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    438
    55
    53
    Male
    Self Employed IT Engineer
    U.S.A.
    I've been having the same problem since the update. I called Verizon and they are sending me out a replacement and should have it tomorrow. Hope it doesn't have the same problem. I use WiFi all the time.
     
  24. BetaMan

    BetaMan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    438
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    438
    55
    53
    Male
    Self Employed IT Engineer
    U.S.A.
    Well, an update. I got the replacement and it did an over-the-air update to the current Verizon ROM. I then checked WiFi and it was STRONG and worked PERFECTLY!

    I then rooted the phone and tried it again. Works PERFECTLY! WiFi tether works GREAT as well! Clearly, it must've been the phone! I've been on the replacement phone for 2 days and it works absolutely great! I'm in a hotel right now connected to my Note2 via WiFi tether and it is working the way it is SUPPOSED to! (I'm still on unlimited data because I bought the phone at full price!)

    Just thought I'd share my experience in the hopes that it will help someone having the same problem that I was!
     
    NeoGrandizer likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...