1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

General 4.2 Update for Galaxy S3 (International)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ghost10bxl, Mar 19, 2013.

  1. Ghost10bxl

    Ghost10bxl Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012

    Oct 6, 2012
    258
    14
    38
    Male
    UK
    So I absolutely can't wait for that update, specially features like widget on lock screen and Photo Sphere. Does anyone know when the update is coming out?

    Is it coming out with the Galaxy S4?

    Last question: Is it worth upgrading to Galaxy S4 from S3?
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    I say no
    Dont know
    No :)
     
  3. davoid

    davoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    1,801
    710
    223
    London
    No, don't know when it's coming out. But anyway, I don't know that it will come with photosphere as that came with pure android on the Nexus 4, and this is a Samsung rom with a different camera app. But you can root and install the Nexus 4 camera and gallery and you can use photosphere (I have - it's cool :))

    Yes. Android 4.2 is coming with the S4

    Whether it's worth upgrading is up to you. If you NEED a 1080p display and larger capacity battery then yes. If not, no.
     
  4. trale

    trale Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    96
    11
    18
    If 4.2 does come to my Galaxy S3 (Verizon), would there be a way to block/stop/decline the OTA update (my phone is rooted)?
     
  5. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Also u can use the Widget Locker lockscreen app :thumbup:
     
    uknow likes this.
  6. uknow

    uknow Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    581
    60
    78
    Male
    If ur rooted u can go in and delete update scripts if u want more info ill be glad to post a link
     
  7. valorian

    valorian Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,947
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1,947
    499
    193
    Male
    Northern Illinois
    Most custom recoveries block OTA updates.
     
  8. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Wouldnt there be a simple way by disabling a system app?
     
  9. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,378
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,378
    3,134
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    You can just use the stock application manager to disable the software update app.
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    In ICS you could but I don't think that's been an option since 4.1.1?
     
  11. thahim

    thahim Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    500
    20
    83
    Male
    Assistant Director
    Karachi, Pakistan
    No ones sure if 4.2 will ever come to GS3
     
  12. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,378
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,378
    3,134
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    It works on 4.1.2. There are two software update apps, one will disable and the other won't but you only need to disable one to stop the update being pushed
    [​IMG]
     
  13. trale

    trale Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    96
    11
    18
    I couldn't find "Software Update" in my App manager (in the All tab)...

    what's the name of the other one?
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    No one is sure WHEN 4.2 is coming to the S3. Its definitely coming. I'm running a 4.2.1 Samsung test build right now and have been doing for weeks
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    That's odd. This and the fw update one have both been greyed out for me for a long time. Maybe that's because I have custom roms
     
  16. Ghost10bxl

    Ghost10bxl Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012

    Oct 6, 2012
    258
    14
    38
    Male
    UK
    But I have seen on a leaked ROM version so it must be coming to GS3/4.2

    Thank you!

    I already have widget locker but it doesn't have functionality such as have different screens(swipe to get to them) which I want! I don't want a clutter of apps on my main lockscreen!

    I would like a Music Player Widget, Calender, Tasks and few more so it'll be a clutter on my main screen
     
  17. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,378
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,378
    3,134
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    They're both called Software Update on mine, the only difference in name is one has a capital U and the other doesn't.

    Yeah it's a bit strange. I'm sure the options always been there whatever ROM I've been using although I wouldn't bet my life on it. I've been on neat a while so maybe it wasn't there with wanamlite and omega.
     
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    In Omega its in the bloatware remover so its not even present for me currently. I used Wanam mostly and i'm fairly certain it was greyed out there.
     
  19. davoid

    davoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011

    Aug 3, 2011
    1,801
    710
    223
    London
    You're on Omega? I'm assuming that's because Wanam said he isn't developing his 4.2 rom until an official Samsung release is in the wild.
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yeah I need 4.2 for script development and omega is the best of the 4.2s... I really need quick access to the 4 in 1 reboot which wanam didn't have
     
  21. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    I dont have the Software Update apps on Neat rom LITE :thumbup:
     
  22. GTWalling

    GTWalling Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,277
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012

    Sep 9, 2012
    1,277
    412
    163
    Alabama USA
    That is a Rom created by a Dev, which probably does not have Touchwiz.

    Just have to wait and see. It should be (gulp) SOON.
     
  23. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK

    No its a leak from Samsung. 4.2.1 with touchwiz. I've been running it for weeks. Its incomplete but it exists none-the-less
     
  24. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Do they leak builds on purpose so the devs can get a head start before its released mate?
     
  25. sarahard7

    sarahard7 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013

    Mar 22, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    If I was helpful to you, please click the Thanks button.
     

Share This Page

Loading...