1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 4.3 ruined tethering...help!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xkdrowex, Dec 24, 2013.

  1. xkdrowex

    xkdrowex Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013

    Dec 24, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    New here. Downloaded the 4.3 s3 update today. Figured out how to unhide Developer Options to get USB debugging option to appear. I use the tether app from tether.com and have for years. Since the update it just says "Please enable USB debugging" and won't connect. It is a non-rooted phone. I uninstalled and reinstalled the app on phone and pc...made sure drivers were up to date... rebooted both. Can't figure it out. Can anyone help me?!
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Welcome to the forum mate. Ive never (and wouldnt) try the update but from what ive read, it seems to have broken all the free tethering apps on certain carriers. Worst thing is that once you take the samsung 4.3 update, you cant go back to an older version.
    If you need tethering, i think your only hope is rooting and flashing a custom rom :thumbdown:
     
    javamann likes this.
  3. xkdrowex

    xkdrowex Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013

    Dec 24, 2013
    5
    0
    5
  4. xkdrowex

    xkdrowex Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013

    Dec 24, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Must be some stupid setting that it changed in the phone but was able to connect with foxfi/planet...makes no sense.
     
  5. galaxygill

    galaxygill Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013

    Dec 26, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    BNSF RR
    The Great Northwest
    Hello all,
    Verizon just upgraded my S3 and the PDANET+/Foxfi is no longer working, I am getting a message to contact verizon to use their service.. Help.. What is the Foxfi/Planet mentioned in the previous post.
    Thanks
     
  6. javamann

    javamann Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    383
    58
    83
    Male
    Retired
    USA:Poconos & Florida
    The thing is, you just hafta lurk on these geek forums to know what NOT to do. Otherwise ur at the mercy of Verizon and Samsung.

    JM
     
  7. xkdrowex

    xkdrowex Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013

    Dec 24, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    It should have said Foxfi and Pdanet... another perk of the upgrade is that the stupid phone changes everything I write way more than it used to. Working for me ...using my PC to type this right now via connection... but I don't have Verizon ..maybe something to do with them?
     
  8. EricH4753

    EricH4753 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012

    Jun 24, 2012
    623
    25
    68
    Male
    Unemployed
    Wheeling, WV
    LOL wow this is bad lol. Had too many last night. I was on wrong topic and completely wrong section and the wrong phpne my bad mate. Wireless Tether by that Fabio Grasso works fine with my s3 with 4.3 I'll post the settings in a minute sorry again.
     
  9. xkdrowex

    xkdrowex Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013

    Dec 24, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    No problems with MMS ....
     

Share This Page

Loading...