1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 4.3 Upgrade Samsung Security Issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BigRedGonzo, Oct 30, 2013.

  1. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #234
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    871
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    871
    204
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Since the upgrade, I have done a Factory Reset from the Recovery Menu. Since then I am frequently getting the message in the screenshot about blocking an attempt to access a secure area. Has anyone seen this or know anything about it? It is quite annoying since it wants you to upgrade your Samsung Security Policy each time. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
  3. GhostInTheDark

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    46
    30
    43
    Sales
    Jersey Shore. No, not the show.
    I've gotten this 3 times already this morning. I noticed that two of the times, the phone had just connected to an Optimum WiFi hot spot. I clicked to update the policy and it tells me everything is up to date. I also looked if I could disable this new Knox program easily, and can't. According to the webpage, it keeps the phone from booting up from hacked or rooted kernels, amongst other things. No wonder Big Red was in a rush to get it released. I hope someone finds a way to get this off the phone. I'm highly annoyed by it already.
     
  4. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
  5. ttocsm

    ttocsm Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Yesterday, I downloaded the new 4.3 update on my shinny new S4.. my only complaint so far, is I continue to get a security warning pop up on my notification panel, with a small shield. When I check it it says something like,, "unauthorized access to a secured area was blocked"
    It doesn't tell me which app it is.

    when I touch it in the notification screen I get this message..

    [​IMG]


    If I click update, I then get a message that says " The latest security policy has already been applied, no further action is needed..

    But a little while later,, it does it again....
    Any ideas what I can do?
    Thanks
     
  6. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,391
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,391
    5,591
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the Tax man
    Cotswolds, England
  7. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Yep, the days of Samsung being friendly to the development community are officially over. They have instead shifted their focus to the business and government/military world where it's all about security.

    Edit: Merged Similar threads together
     
    ironass likes this.
  8. ttocsm

    ttocsm Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Sorry to have re-posted,, I didnt notice the other. So,,,, what do we do? Wait?:rolleyes:
     
  9. Darnell0216

    Darnell0216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Factory reset is the proven method right now (via AC). Apparently they (Samsung & carriers) still can't get update to apply smoothly. Until a solid workaround is found, both VZW and SPR users will have to resort to this. At least with MF9 I had just bought the phone so the factory reset didn't hurt. The reset has also produced other changes that weren't visible after the update first applied, similar to AT&T's Wi-Fi toggle problem with the last update.
     
    BigRedGonzo likes this.
  10. ttocsm

    ttocsm Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Thanks Darnell for your reply,, I thought Gonzo said he had done the reset, but was still getting the popup.. I'm not sure I'm up for a full reset.. even though I've only had mine for a couple weeks. UGGGG!!!
     
  11. smitty543

    smitty543 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    639
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    639
    97
    78
    This dilemma following an "update" that is supposed to improve our phones is both disappointing and upsetting! Will the update be withdrawn/held up pending correction of these problems?
     
  12. Asphaltcowboy

    Asphaltcowboy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    30
    2
    16
    Male
    Ohio
    I just disabled Verizon Mobile Security under application manager and I don't get any pop ups.
     
  13. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #234
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    871
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    871
    204
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    I did say that I had already done a FDR in my original post and I did get the Security Warning Issues both before and after the FDR.

    Now get this, I had another issue and since I hadn't gotten the phone set back up yet I did another FDR. The second FDR cleared everything up. I no longer get the security warnings and my Fitbit One now syncs with my handset like it is supposed too.

    I'm very disappointed that the OTA was a lemon, but I am glad that the FDR actually took care of the issues instead of having to put up with the crap of waiting through another round of updates waiting on VZW's approval.

    With the update working correctly, the phone is the best that it has been since I unboxed it originally. FDR's are a PITA, but it was worth it. Sometimes its OK to do spring cleaning in the fall.
     
  14. Darnell0216

    Darnell0216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Thanks for confirming the FDR. Making sure all my syncs are current before I apply the update. CF still roots (tripping the knox counter) and crawj has already updated his hotspot mod so I'm pretty much good to go soon.
     
  15. GrouchoM

    GrouchoM Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #446
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012

    Feb 5, 2012
    433
    79
    53
    I haven't gotten a security warning since last night around 6pm EST. I don't know if it's the reason but I selected CANCEL on that screen.
     
  16. hansangb

    hansangb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    289
    32
    53
    FYI, I FDR'ed the phone last night. So far, no issues with Knox or "tried to access secure area" messages. Going on 24 hours now.
     
  17. ttocsm

    ttocsm Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Went ahead and did the factory reset myself. No more security pop up..

    Its a damn shame we have to redo everything for a seemingly minor upgrade. I hope this doesn't happen again when we all get 4.4 next month.
     
  18. Benrx

    Benrx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    171
    21
    38
    Ugh.... I guess I know what I need to do. I just started getting the pop-up last night and my phone has been updated for almost a week. Very frustrating. I dread the FDR.
     
  19. amandagconaway

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 30, 2013

    May 30, 2013
    13
    0
    15
    Female
    Centralized Scheduling
    Alabama
    I am having the same issue, but my problem is not w/ an app. It will not let me connect to the WiFi that is offered by my employer, and I have to use their WiFi bc of my data usage.... Everytime I try to connect it gives me that security notification. I cant seem to find a way to just disable the damn thing. Its important that I use their wifi and I havent been able to for two days!
     
  20. Goodspike

    Goodspike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,144
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    1,144
    143
    143
    Male
    Seattle
    That's why I'm surprised Verizon did the 4.2 upgrade about two weeks before the 4.3. Seems like that's just asking for support calls.

    You're very optimistic on when we'll all be getting 4.4. And I'm saying that because I said I didn't believe the news on when 4.3 would be released on Verizon, and it actually happened. So maybe . . .. ;)
     
  21. OstrichSaK

    OstrichSaK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,450
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    1,450
    317
    163
    Colorado, USA
    If you have WiFi and you select to update the database or whatever that option is that pops up it seems to work. My buddy was getting the same popups and such that we are and he opted to allow it and his has worked fine since. I'm tempted to do the same but I REALLY hate being forced into security nannies that I don't want and didn't ask for.
     
  22. valorian

    valorian Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,947
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1,947
    499
    193
    Male
    Northern Illinois
    Last night at home I got this security message for the first time when I connected to my home WiFi. I told it to update and it did download something. The message went away and SO FAR it has not returned.
     
  23. amandagconaway

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 30, 2013

    May 30, 2013
    13
    0
    15
    Female
    Centralized Scheduling
    Alabama


    I did select to update it, and it still will not let me connect and the pop ups are gone... my problem is still there. It wont let me connect to wifi.
     
  24. JaRN99

    JaRN99 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #566
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    365
    42
    43
    Had the security warning yesterday upon arriving home & connecting to my home Wi-Fi...it was the first time it has happened. So I turned Wi-Fi off & then back on again to verify that's when it happened & it did a second time. I did the security update as it recommended then turned Wi-Fi off/on a few times with no more security warning.
     
  25. DanDroide

    DanDroide Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    I did the FDR the other day and I haven't had the Security pop up message UNTIL today. I chose to Cancel instead of Update until I get more feedback on this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...