1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 4.4.3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jhawkkw, Jun 2, 2014.

  1. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC

    Advertisement

    brosko likes this.
  2. Mikessv

    Mikessv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    643
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    643
    100
    93
    Male
  3. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    I have the LTE version, so I don't have an available build yet
     
  4. Mikessv

    Mikessv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    643
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    643
    100
    93
    Male
    Oh okay, I have the wifi only model "Flo" but I'm hesitate to flash. I hear it breaks root.
     
  5. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Most OTA's will break root, but it's usually a simple process to get it back. Reflash a custom recovery and then reflash the su.zip file to reobtain it. The factory image in particular will wipe the device unless you flash it manually partition by partition and don't actually flash the userdata partition. The ota zip file should come soon so that it can be flashed in the stock recovery and not have to worry about that.
     
  6. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    andruoid, SolApathy and Madbat like this.
  7. andruoid

    andruoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,424
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    1,424
    1,304
    343
    Male
    BC, Canada
  8. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    You have to have the device be virtually stock. Stock rom (no Xposed), stock radio, stock kernel, stock recovery. Download the file to you computer, boot the device into the stock recovery while connected to the computer, select adb sideload, and use the command adb sideload PATH_TO_File.zip
     
  9. andruoid

    andruoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,424
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011

    Jan 10, 2011
    1,424
    1,304
    343
    Male
    BC, Canada
    Thanks, updating as we speak, had to wipe data & cache as it gave me a:

    Not enough space on /system to apply patches.
    E:Error in tmp/update.zip
    (Status 7)
    Installation Aborted.

    I have everything backed up so no problem.

    Booting as we speak now... thanks again!
     
  10. Tim K

    Tim K Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,649
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,649
    471
    183
    Male
    Phila, PA
    I flashed it and re-rooted no problem.
     
  11. mak916

    mak916 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1,240
    288
    163
    Male
    Sacramento, CA.
    I got the OTA today.
     
  12. svensett

    svensett Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    439
    58
    53
    Central Illinois
    Me too. Haven't had a chance to check it out though.
     
  13. doniago

    doniago Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #115
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    514
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    514
    111
    113
    Male
    Finance
    Burlington, VT
  14. macgiobuin

    macgiobuin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    321
    32
    63
    Police Lieutenant
    Chattanooga, TN
    I am not rooted. I have not yet received the OTA update. I have the WiFi version only.
     
  15. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    FYI

    I just got the update for mu N5 this afternoon but still nothing for my N7 (2013).
     
  16. Hoosiermama

    Hoosiermama Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    158
    21
    38
    Got the update last night. All seems fine. I don't notice any big changes, but the touch screen seems more consistent. When using Netflix, it always took 4-5 tries to pause, but now it seems to work on the first touch. That was when I noticed touch issues the most, so I don't know if it was the app, or the screen.
     
  17. Mikessv

    Mikessv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    643
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011

    Oct 11, 2011
    643
    100
    93
    Male
    I guess they fixed the root problem, I had tried a rooted ota and it seems to run smooth
     
  18. macgiobuin

    macgiobuin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    321
    32
    63
    Police Lieutenant
    Chattanooga, TN
    Just got the update.....impatient I guess.
     
  19. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    I have 2 n7 2013s, one updated fine. The other one says " not enough space available to download system update. Its the 16gb model and has 10.4 GB free out of 11.5. Hardly any apps, its my wife's and she just plays candy crush all day. I rooted it a long time ago and unrooted and flashed factory img long ago as well. Any ideas?
     
  20. doniago

    doniago Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #115
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    514
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010

    Sep 17, 2010
    514
    111
    113
    Male
    Finance
    Burlington, VT
    I'd try updating via the link I posted above. :p
     
  21. mtiberio

    mtiberio Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    42
    1
    16
    I was rooted, and all concerned, but I did the OTA update, and I didn't even lose my bootloader unlock, and my device did not get wiped. the OTA update is only 75 meg where the complete ROM is 450.
     
  22. ToyotaTacoma

    ToyotaTacoma Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011

    Mar 18, 2011
    296
    53
    53
    Pacific Northwest
    I updated last night. No issues to speak of.
     
  23. mtiberio

    mtiberio Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    42
    1
    16
    4.4.3 seems much faster in a number of ways. Changing from Dalvik to ART at the moment to see if I get any faster...
     

Share This Page

Loading...