1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 42% battery usage for camera?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dlin95123, Jul 23, 2013.

  1. dlin95123

    dlin95123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    124
    16
    38
    San Jose, CA
    I just checked battery usage and found camera used 42% of the battery. However, I have not used the camera at all. Why did it show 42%?

    While I am asking battery usage questions, there are "X" marks on the right of some applications. What are they used for?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. atakin77

    atakin77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    122
    15
    38
    The "X" allows you to kill an app. I'd go into settings and clear the cache for the camera app and then reboot the phone. Hopefully that will help.
     
  3. dlin95123

    dlin95123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    124
    16
    38
    San Jose, CA
    Thanks. But the cache for the camera app is empty. Should I clear the app's data?
     
  4. atakin77

    atakin77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    122
    15
    38
    Yes you can try that. Maybe before you do that, just reboot the phone to see of that corrects the issue.
     
  5. dlin95123

    dlin95123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    124
    16
    38
    San Jose, CA
    I rebooted the phone last night before I went to bed. Checked the battery usage at lunch time and did not see camera. However, I checked again in the evening and found camera had used a high percentage again. I have not used camera today at all. But it seemed to run by itself. The CPU time was only 1 second though.

    Thought?
     
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    On my HTC I found that was related to having geotagging turned on.

    It seemed to get the camera and the gallery constantly calling for location services and it was that combo causing the power loss for me.

    On mine, Camera, settings, Camera Options, Geo-Tag, uncheck. Probably similar on yours.
     
    AntimonyER and dlin95123 like this.
  7. dlin95123

    dlin95123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    124
    16
    38
    San Jose, CA
    That seems to have solved the problem. Thanks, EM!
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
  9. dlin95123

    dlin95123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    124
    16
    38
    San Jose, CA
    Well, the problem comes back.... It has a high battery percentage again.

    It seems that the Camera app does not exit when I use the "back" key to exit the app. On the battery usage details, it shows the Camera app is still running. I have to manually gray out the "X" mark to stop the app.

    Suggestions please....
     
  10. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    After you exit, bring up your task list and swipe it away I guess.
     
  11. hilmar2k

    hilmar2k Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,369
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011

    Jun 29, 2011
    1,369
    293
    163
    New York
    You mean the app switcher? Swiping an app out of there doesn't do anything other than remove it from that list, it doesn't close the app.
     
  12. dlin95123

    dlin95123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    124
    16
    38
    San Jose, CA
    My question is why I cannot exit camera cleanly?
     
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Sorry, it does on my HTC, guess yours is different. :dontknow:


    Because HTC is expecting you to want it parked in memory for fast reentry. And if you don't go there, Android kills them.

    Lot of apps are like that and harmless, the problem is when they don't behave and keep actually running. Then Android leaves them alone.

    When that happens, you need a work around to put them down.

    Hence my suggestion.

    So, does the DNA have the HTC Task Manager app? That would be my second suggestion.

    The only source of the problem I've encountered worked for you for a few days. That was permanent for me, so I'm out of ideas for yours.

    You don't have any pending uploads to Dropbox or something do you?

    Some other indirect linkage would be the cause, just as geotagging was, so all I can do is give you another direction to guess in.
     
    dlin95123 likes this.
  14. dlin95123

    dlin95123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    124
    16
    38
    San Jose, CA
    EarlyMon likes this.
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yeah, please let me know, I'm really curious.

    What's up with that??

    Dumb question - do we know if your settings are sticking?

    Could geotagging be back on, saying it's not, so when you change another setting, it gets back in line?

    What if you go in 4:3 and then after that go back to widescreen?
     
  16. dlin95123

    dlin95123 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    124
    16
    38
    San Jose, CA
    Well, the camera usage went up again even though I did not use it in the last 6 hours. It now shows 44% battery usage has gone to the camera. The camera is in 4:3 mode.

    The settings seem to stick from the UI's view point. So what's next?
     

Share This Page

Loading...