1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

+44 code not recognised

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ralph-p, Jul 22, 2010.

  1. ralph-p

    ralph-p Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Imported all of my contacts from outlook that include the country codes (mostly +44 for UK). The desire does not recognise these numbers when I try and dial - Is there an easy way round this without editing every contact
     

    Advertisement

  2. KanedAndUnable

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Manchester, UK
    this is very strange as i have all my numbers in my desire stored with the +44 prefix before them and have never had any problems.
    this may sound like a patronising question but are you sure the leading zero after the plus +44 has been omitted?
     
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,305
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    and also, check there are no spaces before the + and after the last digit. This can sometimes happen when exporting contacts.
     
  4. ianramsden87

    ianramsden87 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    125
    14
    38
    UK
    I kinda had the same problem when I imported my numbers in from Google contacts, I had spaces in the number tho. Make sure you remove all spaces from any part of the number.
     
  5. Caspa

    Caspa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #621
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    121
    12
    38
    Ghost
    London, UK
    I concur... All my numbers are stored as +44 and no problems at all...

    Easiest way to deal with contacts is to import them into Gmail and edit from there...
     
  6. tmatthews

    tmatthews Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    hi ralph, i was just wondering what you did to get around this problem?! tia :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...