1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 4G on and off...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by skinlab, Feb 14, 2013.

  1. skinlab

    skinlab Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    190
    38
    43
    Anyone figure out if there is a way to turn 4g off and go to 3g or 1x? I tried anycut but i get force close on everything i tried..
     

    Advertisement

  2. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #96
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,759
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,759
    451
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX

    I know there are some apps that supposedly do this. I don't know if they require root or not.
     
  3. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
  4. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,617
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    2,617
    376
    173
    Male
    Michigan
    Crazy question, why would you want to do that? Kind of defeats the point of a 4G phone.
     
  5. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    If your not using your phone you can turn off 4G to conserve battery.
    Also for people that have gone over their data caps full speed 3G can be up to 7x faster than throttled 4G.
     
    sammyz likes this.
  6. Idrish

    Idrish Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012

    Nov 5, 2012
    45
    4
    16
    Coming from previous experience with my esteem, I had the admire and upgraded to the esteem.... my 4g would never pop up always 3g or 1x and you know how ******ed I looked with a 4g phone n not having it lol..... well the reason why is because I had the 40ollar plan which is not a 4g plan.... so I upgraded to the 60 dollar plan and boom i had 4g constantly.... so maybe you have to upgrade your bill....
     
  7. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    He said turn his 4G "off"
     
  8. skrapmetal

    skrapmetal Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012

    Feb 3, 2012
    377
    44
    43
    Geek, Musician, Electronic Technician, and all aro
    Texarkana, TX
    Theres an app on google play called Data Switch. It's a tiny file, and it uses a shortcut rather than a widget so it doesn't run in the background. Works perfectly without having to edit the settings.
     
  9. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    If that just turns data off, he still wants data
     
  10. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,415
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    There is no solid app around to do this. I think this is the only one out there, and I don't consider it solid enough for me to install on my devices.

    You can try it if you want to. It was updated recently and seems to be for cdma which the spirit is.

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.brownent.switchit&hl=en
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...