1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 4G Question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PDConner, Aug 31, 2011.

  1. PDConner

    PDConner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    63
    1
    16
    I see where AT&T announced they have the phone and will be selling it soon.. (Samsung Galaxy S2) can I ask a dumb question.. I have had mine for a few months not and love it but... I see the new phone doesnt have the home button on it like mine does (I love the home button) but they said it is 4G.... Is my phone I have now 4G... Just curious.. thanks everyone
     

    Advertisement

    3waygeek likes this.
  2. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    nope, not 4G :)
     
  3. PDConner

    PDConner Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    63
    1
    16
    WOW that kind of sucks.. now I need to think should I sell it when the 4G one comes out from ATT or keep it lol wow..
     
  4. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    well if ur network supports 4G and u feel ur really gonna be using the higher speeds, i guess u could do that :) me, i wouldnt bother
     
  5. 3waygeek

    3waygeek Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    May 8, 2011

    May 8, 2011
    164
    32
    43
    Well, the SGS2 is what AT&T calls "4G" in that it works on AT&T's HSPA+ network. I'm averaging around 4 Mbps downstream, but have gotten 7+ Mbps on occasion. Upstream speeds are around 1 Mbps.

    My understanding is that the AT&T version of the SGS2, to be introduced sometime this month, will also be HSPA+ only; a LTE-friendly version may come later. The international LTE version of the SGS2, just announced by Samsung, would probably work on AT&T's LTE network.
     
  6. jbarresi19

    jbarresi19 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    19
    1
    16
    How did you guys get data working on your phones? I got one today and I am on AT&T but i can only make calls, texts and connect to wifi. I can't get on the internet if I'm not on wifi. Do i have a setting wrong somewhere? AT&T can't help me
     

Share This Page

Loading...