1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

4G Throttling Just Kicked In

Discussion in 'Boost Mobile' started by toothneck, Feb 28, 2013.

  1. toothneck

    toothneck Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Male
    L.A.
    Wow! Used up my limit in 3 days?! I just got a text from Boost a few hrs ago saying I reached my limit and now I'm slowed down til 3/24. Anyone else get this yet?
     

    Advertisement

  2. goobert

    goobert Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013

    Feb 18, 2013
    18
    5
    16
    How bad is the slow down is it all the way to 256 or just every now and then?

    To be honest this whole unlimited data just kidding bs really pisses me off. They have the bandwidth and frequency spectrum to do unlimited at full speed. It uses the same spectrum as voice calls do and I can have truely unlimited voice. But carriers hogging data with caps is just plain stupid.
     
  3. rockdoctor1

    rockdoctor1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012

    Aug 11, 2012
    140
    46
    43
    I agree with you. They are playing a game as are all of the other data providers. Data should be unlimited after all it is only Ones and Zeros regardless of what they make up...a call, a text or a video.

    And if you think about it....they want you to buy their streaming TV service and this streaming service and that streaming service but do not actually give you the bandwidth to do so...
     
    2fr3sh likes this.
  4. toothneck

    toothneck Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Male
    L.A.
    It is not 256k. I'm still getting up to about 1650kbps at night, when there's low traffic. During the day, not so much.
     
  5. shadowspawn

    shadowspawn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    65
    11
    18
    Because if they gave you truly unlimited everything, there would be no reason to sign a contract with Sprint. You get unlimited everything for up to $40 less per month using the exact same towers. It's the same reason Verizon charges you $70/month for 2 GB of data on a $120 smartphone that would be completely free if you signed a contract with them instead.

    @thread: From what I've been told, throttling for 4G phones just kicks you down to 3G and no slower than that. Can you confirm?
     
  6. toothneck

    toothneck Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    Male
    L.A.
    Ok, it has now officially gone to 256k for me. This is unbearable. Time to kick Boost to the curb!
     
  7. mydian

    mydian Android Expert
    Rank:
     #121
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,416
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    1,416
    664
    233
    Male
    2-Way Radio Repair Technician
    Chicagoland
    Better than the <100kbps supposed 3G I've been getting, and I'm not throttled.
     
  8. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,790
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,790
    1,834
    693
    Male
    USA
    I couldn't even get past 75kbps when I had Boost before. :(
     
  9. z3r0

    z3r0 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013

    Jan 9, 2013
    9
    0
    5
    Male
    So. Cal
    You have an idea of how much data you used?
     
  10. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,790
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,790
    1,834
    693
    Male
    USA
    If you are asking me, I never went past 2.5 GB.....I barely went past 400 MB so I know I wasn't throttled. The data speeds just sucked in my neighborhood
     
  11. Frank The Tank

    Frank The Tank Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013

    Jan 3, 2013
    239
    12
    58
    Male
    Whats the 4g mb limit set at?
     
  12. kevincott

    kevincott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,267
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    1,267
    296
    163
    Chicago, IL
    I have seen the number 2.5G numerous times.
     
  13. jplsteel

    jplsteel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    350
    52
    53
    Male
    Sales
    Orlando, Fl
    The 2.5 GB limit sucks..I get throttled every month. Usually about 1 week into a new cycle. I have no WiFi near me so always on data.
     
  14. Frank The Tank

    Frank The Tank Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013

    Jan 3, 2013
    239
    12
    58
    Male
    Im always on wifi. But no 4g lte( yet). Looking at LG F7. Awesome reviews.
     
  15. mikey808

    mikey808 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Male
    hawaii and california
    since i got my gs3 from boost mobile i used up 5.99GB and haven't gotten throttled yet
     
  16. pyro_guy0001

    pyro_guy0001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    382
    Joined:
    May 16, 2013

    May 16, 2013
    382
    88
    63
    Male
    Goodwill-DSU depaertment
    Texas
    That's weird even on 3G I get about 800KB at day and 1.8MB at night. IG not much sprint/boost mobile users in my area, but the throttle kicked me down to 500KB/1.2MB
     
  17. MiguelAMX

    MiguelAMX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011

    Nov 23, 2011
    216
    52
    53
    Why don't you just switch to MetroPCS ? for $60 you get unlimited EVERYTHING and I see no data cap limit anywhere.

    I'm an always wifi person; I only use my 4g if I really need to. In fact I avoid using mobile data because I dont want to be throttled for the moment I really need 4G. 3G is horrendous.
     
  18. mikey808

    mikey808 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Male
    hawaii and california
    last month i passed my data cap of 2.5GIG and this month i already used up 16GIG with no throttle still have 4G:D [​IMG][/URL][/IMG]
     
  19. pyro_guy0001

    pyro_guy0001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    382
    Joined:
    May 16, 2013

    May 16, 2013
    382
    88
    63
    Male
    Goodwill-DSU depaertment
    Texas
    Do metropcs have good androids?
     
  20. mydian

    mydian Android Expert
    Rank:
     #121
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,416
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012

    Apr 8, 2012
    1,416
    664
    233
    Male
    2-Way Radio Repair Technician
    Chicagoland
    You should really make a new thread with this question, and in the proper forum.

    That being said, and me being such the nice guy that I am.. here is a link to Metro PCS's webpage. On this webpage, you'll find the phones they have for-sale. Yes, some are nice. Android Smartphones | Cell Phone Accessories | MetroPCS
     
    pyro_guy0001 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...