1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 4g Toggle Widget??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by prsparty, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. prsparty

    prsparty Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    2
    4
    6
    Anyone found anything for the Bionic yet?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,475
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Welcome to Android Forums, prsparty.

    A quick search in Market may yield something for the Bionic, but I have my doubts. It could be worth a try, keeping in mind that what works for one Android model may not work for another.

    On another subject, helpful hint for you in getting responses in the device forums;): use the "Tips" prefix only if you are starting a thread offering a tip, not for requesting one:

    http://androidforums.com/motorola-droid-bionic/410009-did-you-use-right-prefix-your-post-thread.html :)

    I changed your prefix to "General" for you.
     
  3. ringolong

    ringolong Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011

    Sep 11, 2011
    3
    0
    25
    Systems Analyst
    Tennessee
  4. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
  5. adroidn

    adroidn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    project supervisor, high end residential construct
    cincinnati
    From what I've read around the tech sites and in the app developer links found in the Market, Android hasn't provided developers with a way to directly toggle the LTE radio like they can with the others (wifi, gps, bluetooth, or all as in airplane mode) which baffles me, but there are widgets like LTE Switch, or SwitchPro which has one widget in the pack (3g-2g) which take you to the spot in the menus where you choose to toggle between "CDMA/LTE" and "CDMA only" so it seems for now that's what we get. While I don't like it, I could live with it

    The trouble with my Bionic is when turning on wifi, the 2 & 3G radios do not turn off and if I use a toggle to turn them off they turn themselves back on. This I can't live with this for long.
     
  6. ChiefIlliniwek5

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    99
    14
    18
    It's been over a month since the bionic was released...how is it possible that no one has developed a widget toggle for this? I'm baffled. I have to believe that with those who are rooted there has got to be a way to set up a widget that can change that setting that we have to change manually in the mobile network window
     
  7. almahix

    almahix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    280
    37
    43
    Retired software whore
    Southern CA
    Priorities?
     
  8. devlop

    devlop Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    Switchpro put out an update not too long ago that works really well now with flipping the mobile network on and off. If you're looking for a widget that switches between 4g and 3g, then I can't help you.
     
  9. PhilD

    PhilD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    133
    21
    58
    Southern NJ

    i use the "2g/3g" indicator in switchpro, it doesn't toggle between 3g and 4g directly, but it does open the settings menu and from there it's only one click to toggle 3g/4g. i have been using switch pro for a long time, it's a great widget with a lot of options.
     

Share This Page

Loading...