1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root 4G WIRED Tethering Options

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lightandmind, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. lightandmind

    lightandmind Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    65
    0
    15
    Male
    Recording / Mastering Engineer
    After many failed attempts to get the Wired Tether App going, I've finally given up am looking at other options, particularly one that would not require little or no work to connect.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    Mattbo2003 and DaRayvn like this.
  3. lightandmind

    lightandmind Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    65
    0
    15
    Male
    Recording / Mastering Engineer
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok...... so have you tried those found in the guide?
     
  5. NaterTots

    NaterTots Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    704
    581
    183
    Plumber
    CT
    I am on the Wireless Tether app from the market right now. On 4G with no problems.

    The setup was easier than the Sprint native hotspot one that is only 3g.

    Just turn it on, search for networks on my laptop, and connect. That easy.
     
    dustwun77 and ocnbrze like this.
  6. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    If I remember correctly, he has a mac and the option to connect to mac os isn't working for him.
     
    NaterTots likes this.
  7. lightandmind

    lightandmind Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    65
    0
    15
    Male
    Recording / Mastering Engineer
    I didn't think that the WIRELESS tether app utilized the 4G service, only the WIRED tether app did. I'm hard pressed to find ANY wired tethering option that uses 4G and is easy to run.
     
  8. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Pdanet should work, and i know for a fact cm7 rom wired tether runs flawlessly.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  9. lightandmind

    lightandmind Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    65
    0
    15
    Male
    Recording / Mastering Engineer
    Yes, but I don't think that it actually runs 4G
     
  10. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago

    Have you actually tried it? I dont see why it wouldnt work.
     
  11. lightandmind

    lightandmind Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    65
    0
    15
    Male
    Recording / Mastering Engineer
    Again, yes it will work in 3G, but that's not what I asked about.




    Anyone? I can't believe that this is not a bigger issue for more people.




    All I want is a 4G wired tethering option that automatically enables as soon as the USB is plugged in.
     
  12. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Root, use cyanogenmod rom.

    Still wont turn on automatically. There are no solutions that turn on automatically, that would be a security risk from hell. .

    *Solved*

    And that's all you're going to get from me. We're here trying to do you a favor and your setting a tone that seems like we owe you something. Please remember none of us are getting paid to help you, and we're doing it out of our own free & good will. A little bit of please, thanks, and humility goes a long way.
     
  13. lightandmind

    lightandmind Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    65
    0
    15
    Male
    Recording / Mastering Engineer
    There are lot's of 3G options out there, (I've tried most of them, including PDAnet), and if that's what I wanted I would have indicated that in the title of the post. I am always super appreciative of all the awesome help that everyone here has given me, not sure if you read the title of the post or didn't know that PDAnet was 3G only. Thanks for the cyanogenmod suggestion, THAT is a good suggestion that's relevent to the title, and that is awesome. I hope that the info in this page will help others seaching for similar info.

    FYI ~ I'm not going to flash a ROM only for the tether options, but I bet there is someone out there who would!
     
  14. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Then perhaps you should have read post #8 completely before dismissing the post entirely, because I suggested CM7 there as well.;)
     
  15. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,473
    Posts:
    22,972
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    22,972
    9,677
    1,473
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    Excellent question. Have you looked through that? It seems like a pretty good answer:thinking:
    You don't think? I took that as meaning you weren't sure? Am i wrong in that assumption?
    I personally didn't see anything wrong with him asking "have you tried it, etc". Seemed like a reasonable response to me:thinking:, especially after you stated that you weren't sure if it did 4g??

    After that though I saw some tempers getting flared and some comments that could definitely be taken the wrong way... from the both of you. I've removed a couple posts and took some comments out. Moving forward lets all please remember that anything that can be taken the wrong way most likely will, this IS the internet btw:)

    Hopefully this little misunderstanding is over. I hope we all realize that our intentions aren't always clear in what we say and that these things do happen.

    Carry on:)

    NightAngel79
     
    novox77, EarlyMon, Roze and 2 others like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...