1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

4k M8 OTT TV box help!

Discussion in 'TV & Video' started by John Phillips80, Feb 24, 2015.

  1. John Phillips80

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015

    Feb 24, 2015
    6
    1
    16
    Male
    Hi all,

    I've recently bought this new box and having nothing but problems with it. I'm quite new to this world to be fair and I have no real idea what I'm looking for. The box ix pretty basic so any tips you can give me on how I can get the best outta the box (apps, .apk files, etc...) will be very helpful. I've tried following the youtube vids but these are pretty dated and the links they recommend are pretty much all defunct now?

     

    Advertisement

  2. startek44

    startek44 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014

    Apr 20, 2014
    9
    3
    6
    What do you want to do with it the box M8 is a good box
     
    vivbarr likes this.
  3. John Phillips80

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015

    Feb 24, 2015
    6
    1
    16
    Male
    I can't find any links that have smooth video in HD quality or any non pixilated links for football? Even on mash up? If you can recommend any apps/add ons that I can download that will help but I'm very new to all this and feel a bit in the woods
     
  4. John Phillips80

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015

    Feb 24, 2015
    6
    1
    16
    Male
    Forgive my potential ignorance but how would I check if I'm using the Kodi Helix?
     
  5. startek44

    startek44 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014

    Apr 20, 2014
    9
    3
    6
    You go to setting in the android box and scroll down to APPS and find XBMC or Kodi and click on it and see that the version it is you going to have to learn android a little better if you are going to get anything of of that box
     
  6. John Phillips80

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015

    Feb 24, 2015
    6
    1
    16
    Male
    Thank you for your help. Albeit a tad condescending as I've already established that I'm new to this.
     
    Lmv1909 likes this.
  7. startek44

    startek44 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014

    Apr 20, 2014
    9
    3
    6
    robinlozeau and smoggy333 like this.
  8. Villameakin

    Villameakin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015

    Nov 25, 2015
    1
    1
    6
    Male
    Hi
    I have just collected my new 4k ott TV box fully loaded I go on to kodi, then on to genesis click what ever it want to watch comes up with all the streaming links click and it comes up with one or more items failed to play check the log file for details it happens on everything any ideas??
     
    jim byrd likes this.
  9. Demi Thompson

    Demi Thompson Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015

    Dec 3, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Female
    I also have this problem. What do you do?!
     
  10. MnI

    MnI Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015

    Dec 6, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Also getting error and log message. Coming to conclusion that my ISP -BT fibre- is blocking data the access to media as it may be deemed illegal by them, same message happened with fire stick, which is why I got the M8.
    Any comments on this conclusion.
     
  11. Porschapx

    Porschapx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015

    Dec 8, 2015
    1
    1
    26
    Someone please explain more.
     
    Lmv1909 likes this.
  12. NASTYSICK

    NASTYSICK Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016

    Jan 1, 2016
    8
    1
    26
    Male
    Hey Guys as someone who has been installing xbmc/kodi for a long time the error you guys are getting is with the addon itself. The error isn't you isp blocking your content it has to do with the addon. I Assume you are using genesis. Genesis will no longer be updated as the addon dev has stopped maintnence on it. I suggest switching to SALTS or Mutts Nuts etc.
     
  13. matthew donald

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016

    Jan 7, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    Help i have just put my box back to factory settings now get nothing please can someone tell me if there is anything i can do
     
  14. Buntsy

    Buntsy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016

    Jan 7, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    Can anybody help just bought ott tv box today and every time I press remote it scrambles the picture
     
  15. BigFella74

    BigFella74 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016

    Jan 15, 2016
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    Hi I've added the build spinztv via ares and when scrolling through menus the box returns to home screen. Anyone got any ideas why this is happening please?
     
  16. Psychotat

    Psychotat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016

    Jan 20, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    I keep getting check log message but not sure how to check log,,,
     
  17. Android401

    Android401 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016

    Jan 23, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    I have a Ott M8 tv box and it just stopped working I tried to do a master reset and now I just get the android Bot like it is working but it never stops. I have tried to unplug and replug but it continues to do the same thing. Can I put something to stop it on an sd card or thumb drive?
     
  18. Lmv1909

    Lmv1909 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016

    Feb 21, 2016
    1
    1
    16
    Female
    This helped! Thanks
     
    santiagoconda likes this.
  19. carola

    carola Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016

    Apr 22, 2016
    3
    0
    15
    Female
    I have a question. Can someone please assist me, I just got an used M8 ott box. I am unablo to type my internet connection password. It doesnot matter how many times I click ok in the password box it continues blinking and never opens the keyboard screen. I can bot use it ethernet as my cable connection is far. Is there something I am missing or is it broken? Thank you for your time.
     
  20. Harts19

    Harts19 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016

    Apr 26, 2016
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Hey Nastysick , I think I have this problem. My M8S box was working but now when i try to stream a movie it doesnt show how many sources have the downloads. I Found that the date was incorrect and causing issues. Changed that and now it shows how many downloads a
     
  21. Harts19

    Harts19 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016

    Apr 26, 2016
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Sorry, downloads available but won't find a file for anything to load. Is it the addon and how do I change this? Thanks
     
  22. NASTYSICK

    NASTYSICK Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016

    Jan 1, 2016
    8
    1
    26
    Male
    Hey did you set up kodi manually or via an installer like configwizard? which addon are you using that's giving you an issue?
     
  23. Xiromisho

    Xiromisho Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 1, 2016

    May 1, 2016
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    So a few funky questions:

    I have the same device: set it to Auto-Detect 4k and it "out puts" to 4k the same way a Mustang accelerates when you push the peddle down to the floor: Crash.

    Eventually managed to get the screen to stop flicking long enough to get me to the resolution settings which allowed me to manually control the output resolution (sort of....) - I can select 1080p without issue, sure, but not 4k. 4k only seems selectable via "Auto-Detect" - any resolution for this?

    That aside, Does anyone else have MASSIVE issues with the included remote? The Home button increases the volume and the volume button takes you to the "home" - Granted I know it's made in China but... seriously is there a way to address that?
     
  24. D1ablo

    D1ablo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 5, 2016

    May 5, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    Hi I'm having the same issue. My box one day stopped working. The light just flashes and nothing turns on. I unplugged the box left it for days plugged it in and same thing. Any suggestions??
     
  25. Viktor67

    Viktor67 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 16, 2016

    May 16, 2016
    4
    0
    5
    Male

Share This Page

Loading...