1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

512 ram?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by acithium, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. acithium

    acithium Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    When I look under manage apps, it only shows me having about 300 megs. Anybody else have this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. quantumrand

    quantumrand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    1,237
    198
    143
    Some RAM is reserved for the operating system, about 192MB. In actual byte count, 512MB is 488MB (more on this below), leaving ~296MB of user accessible RAM. It's completely normal.

    Actual bit counts: Manufacturers count bytes in 1000s, while computers count them in 1024's. In the manufacturer's eyes 512,000,000 bytes is 512MB, but to a computer, 512MB is 536,870,912 bytes. A computer will count 512,000,000 bytes as ~488MB.

    Edit: Just want to add, the byte count issue is more of a thing for hard drives. RAM isn't necessarily affected by this issue, though it can vary from manufacturer. The Nexus S could very well have true 512MB of RAM, and the system may reserve 224MB.
     
  3. acithium

    acithium Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    so even the system wouldn't show the ram that is reserved for the OS.
     
  4. quantumrand

    quantumrand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    1,237
    198
    143
    It could if the people who programmed that aspect of Android wanted it to, but I assume they thought it would be more useful to display it in terms of user available RAM while also protecting system memory from accidental corruption.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...