1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support 56fps cap

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by saps, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Well ladies and gents it appears our beloved SF's have a 56fps cap on them. I you don't know what the means nevermind. If you do, you're probably like me and are a tad bothered by this. I think we all know the EVO was capped at 30 until a fix came. 30 is a crime. 56 is more tolerable but still yet its the principle that bothers the [H] in me. Apparently this is the case across the Galaxy S family line up. Not sure, this can or will be adjusted in a future update.
    If you wanna confirm it yourself try this little and I do mean little app: Fps2D free from Market. I'll take a nickel for everyone who averages 55. Its not just here but this goes a ways to explaining why every Galaxy S NeoCore's between 55-56 as well. :rolleyes: Oh well, whatever
     

    Advertisement

  2. Don S

    Don S Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    629
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    629
    180
    93
    Male
    Bayville, NJ USA
    Is there really any discernible difference, at all, to a FR of say 65 fps compared to 55fps on a phone of 4 inches?

    I find it extremely hard to believe that 55fps on a phone in insufficient for anything. If this is true, for me the cap seems moot.
     
  3. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Yeah pretty fair point. Again, its more of a principle thing for me. 56fps is probably good enough for most. Just like 1Ghz on the cpu is probably good enough for most. Perhaps Im in the minority but I do want more than 1Ghz is the cpu is capable; which it is. I also want more than 56fps is the screen/gpu is capable. I dont know maybe is a SuperAMOLED issue?
     
  4. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Now this is just pissing me off now:
    [​IMG]
    Refresh Rate 68Hz according to Quadrant. So either quadrant is wrong or someone is gimping us 12Hz. Again this probably only bothers the [H] but still.
     

Share This Page

Loading...