1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root .595 Leaks (There is now no path to the OTA from GB)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BuGSmx3, May 6, 2011.

  1. BuGSmx3

    BuGSmx3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    29
    1
    16
    *EDIT* A word of warning, you need to be on .591 before flashing .595

    Note:You can flash .959 without wiping data and you will keep root most the time. If not use gingerbreak. If you are like me and just lose busybox you can try using gingerbreak to unroot, then reroot & reinstall busybox but it looks like most ppl have zero problems.

    Anyone see this yet?

    New Leak and Official upgrade Path to Gingerbread

    Credit to P3Droid:

    New Leak and Official upgrade Path to Gingerbread

    Hey all, its been a long time since you have seen a leak. LOL. From what I have been told Verizon has approved a Gingerbread build for release. You should all be as exicted as I am. I know we have been on gingerbread for a long time but nothing beats going official.

    The upgrade path does not include those who are on Gingerbread .573/.588/.591 - Make Sure You Read Below.

    The build that has been approved for release by Verizon is Blur (4.5.596) this is not build 4..5.596 but is the build tha is needed so you can upgrade via ota without needing to sbf back to 2.3.340.

    UPGRADE PATH
    The first method to upgrade to gingerbread from froyo is to sbf you phone back to stock froyo (2.3.340) and await for the upgrade.

    The second method involves getting yourself on the proper build so you can receive the offical OTA once it is pushed. You can upgrade to the official OTA if you are running Blur build 4.5.595.

    So to get all of you on the proper build and the proper upgrade path you have been provided with the proper blur build 4.5.595. So in the application you are going to find 3 different builds, a fully deodexed build, a fully odexed build, and a stock odexed build (no root, nothing there at al) <----- you will want to flash this one in preparation for the official release build.

    So when can you get these builds, well we will have to wait until 12:30am EST.

    So start checking your TeamBlackHat app.


    None of this would be possible without the work of super secret NINJA, so we all say thank you very much.

    No we don't not have a release date from VZW and the build that has been approved for release is subject to change as VZW sees fit.

    OP: I am downloading the rooted deoxed version now... will report back in a bit!
     

    Advertisement

    jroc likes this.
  2. droblyer

    droblyer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    229
    19
    38
    Yea, was just looking at it a min ago. Too many leaks to keep up with, lol. I'm happy on .591 till the official ota comes and gets rooted. Hopefully gingerbreak will work on the official ota.
     
  3. Steven58

    Steven58 ^^Whadda nice guy!^^
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,953
    Posts:
    33,574
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    33,574
    26,366
    3,953
    Male
    New Jersey, US of A
    I changed the title and edited the OP to reflect the current news and will sticky this for the day.
     
  4. BuGSmx3

    BuGSmx3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    29
    1
    16
    Ok, so I know this for sure, you can't go from .573 to .595.... I am dling .588 right now to try and see...
     
  5. goldz28

    goldz28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    I'm on 4.5.573 dl the update now will report back how it goes.
     
  6. BuGSmx3

    BuGSmx3 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    29
    1
    16
    Yeah it didn't work from 588 either... so looks like you need to go from .480 to .591 then to .595 unless my phone is just being really messed... :(
     
  7. goldz28

    goldz28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    I guess I was on .591 and it went just fine.
     
  8. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,528
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,528
    149
    143
    South Florida
    Just installed deoxed 595 over 591 without clearing data or cache. As usual, initial boot took a few extra minutes but all is well (for some reason did have to reinstall busybox but not a problem)....
     
  9. droidSPARX

    droidSPARX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    237
    14
    38
    i just actually just reverted back to Froyo after flashing .591

    need me some Wireless Tether
     
  10. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    Does .595 remember the camera resolution setting or are they still overlooking this simple, but major bug?
     
  11. ericsch333

    ericsch333 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    131
    8
    36
    just noticed that 1% batt with the new build now thats cool
     
  12. goldz28

    goldz28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Switching to 3mp from widescreen, closing camera app and rebooting the phone it reverted back to widescreen
     
  13. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    How has this not been fixed?! Wow. It's a major bug. Many people would rather get 8MP and not use widescreen, so the widescreen default isn't what many want. Such a simple bug, yet, a big issue for many. Very annoyed they didn't get to fixing this.
     
  14. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    It's definitely annoying. But if small bugs aren't getting fixed, it's because big bugs are getting all of the attention (I work in an IT development company so I see this every day).

    ALL releases go out with an internal company list of known bugs, it's impossible to fix all of them - so they get prioritized into "acceptable" and "not acceptable." I'm positive, since widescreen mode is probably what most people default to, and that modifying it is fairly easy, that it got relegated to the "acceptable" category.

    Sucks for those who find it particularly annoying, I guess I'm just saying that it was probably deliberately ignored in favor of fixing stability or other major bugs.

    Can always get a 3rd party camera app if it bothers you too badly.
     
  15. kastleberg

    kastleberg Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    577
    207
    93
    Richmond, VA
    How about wifi? Any fix in this build?
     
  16. DroidJW

    DroidJW Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    +1 -- precisely my experience as well
     
  17. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    I installed this right over top of .591 without wiping data/cache and retained root.
     
  18. goldz28

    goldz28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    319
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    I tried to put the crt off and got a boot loop for some reason. Can't get back into clockworks recovery so I'll have to spf back when I get off of work. Unless anyone knows how to get into clockworks in a power off state? I googled and tried several ways but no luck.
     
  19. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    I changed the battery .xml file so it would do the 10% increments and then changed my battery icons using NinjaMorph.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. deathratlehead

    deathratlehead Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    396
    115
    68
    What changes are there in this version vs .591?
     
  21. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    instead of calling it .591 they called it .595 :p
     
    deathratlehead likes this.
  22. ECFfighter7232

    ECFfighter7232 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    1,493
    336
    163
    Maryland
    has anyone tried installing this straight from froyo (.340) ?
    My Thunderbolt is coming today and the X is going to the girlfriend so I need to SBF it before I give it to her but I was going to put this leak on there for her so she can get the OTA when it comes.
    I didnt know if I have to go through the hassle of loading another GB build first or if I can go straight from .340 to this.
     
  23. bbuck002

    bbuck002 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    622
    60
    78
    Research Tech
    Buffalo
    try plugging the phone in to the wall charger. supposedly koush wrote the program so it will default to cwm when plugged in.
     
  24. deathratlehead

    deathratlehead Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    396
    115
    68
    I would very much like to steal your entire layout, lol. I see it's the matted blues fancy widget, but how did you get the weather above and the date below the clock? I see no option to change the layout. Also, can I have your wallpaper?
     
  25. Airmaxx23

    Airmaxx23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,142
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    3,142
    1,039
    313
    To get the weather above the clock just go into appearance settings and change the widget style to "digital Clock (classic)".

    Here is the wallpaper:

    [​IMG]
     
    SscoootzZ, deathratlehead and Aggie12 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...