1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

70 app limit on Hero (Sprint)?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by veggiess, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. veggiess

    veggiess Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    At least on my HTC Hero, 70 apps is the limit. No, I did not run out of internal or SD memory-far from it. But I have been going off trial and error, installing and uninstalling apps. If I go over 70 apps, once I shut off/turn on my phone, it will be completely corrupt, won't give me service, etc. The first time this occurred, I had no idea what was wrong and hard rebooted my phone. Now, if I stay at 70 apps or below, I'm fine. HTC should really tell you this and it is ridiculous considering I have plenty of memory left.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ftothe3

    ftothe3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009

    Sep 30, 2009
    48
    0
    15
    im not saying there should be a limit... but damn thats a lot of apps!
     
  3. PGR

    PGR Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    145
    23
    38
    Industrial Maintenance Supervisor
    Southern California
    No offense to the OP intended, but I hope someone puts me out of my misery if I ever reach a point where I need 70 apps on a phone.

    Pete
     
  4. veggiess

    veggiess Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    That's helpful, thanks. I don't think you realize how few 70 really is. My friend has over 150 apps on his iPhone. Count your's, I bet you have quite a few and you will discover there are many other useful ones. I won't necessarily keep all those, but it would be nice to be able to download quite a few and try them before worrying about quickly deleting them. If the phone has the memory, no reason for not being able to have the apps.
     
  5. Sweed

    Sweed Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009

    Sep 27, 2009
    208
    1
    56
    are you sure your experiencing the problem due to the amount of apps?
    I'm not going to pretend to be an expert on computers: but from my limited knollege I don't see why this would happen
     
  6. crow11ad

    crow11ad Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Oct 22, 2009
    416
    206
    88
    Now the question is this. Can you run all 70 apps at once and the phone is still functional? lol:D
     
  7. Sweed

    Sweed Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009

    Sep 27, 2009
    208
    1
    56
    With 70 apps one of them is bound to be Task Killer xD

    anyway, no matter how useful the apps are, it becomes impractical when you have to scroll down a huge list of them
     
  8. dhinez

    dhinez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    204
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    204
    12
    38
    Sumter
    Is that 70 apps downloaded from the market or 70 apps altogether with the pre-installed apps?
     
  9. veggiess

    veggiess Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    70 apps from the Android market. Still have tons of memory left.
     
  10. veggiess

    veggiess Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    I agree, it doesn't make sense. But I've tested this with the number over and again and the problems always start when I hit 70 apps. It lets me install lots more, I've been up to close to 100, but once I reboot my phone it has issues until I get back down to 70.
     
  11. Sweed

    Sweed Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009

    Sep 27, 2009
    208
    1
    56
    not exactly sure how the os works,
    but maybe the registry is only big enough to keep track of 70
    after that it goes all buggy.

    once again, I don't really know what I'm talking about so what I say is a random guess
     
  12. ajones7279

    ajones7279 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    Hmm, I've had over 70 apps on without that problem.
     
  13. rsbenedict

    rsbenedict Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    98
    2
    16
    There's no registry with linux-based operating systems. That's a windows nightmare and no one wants to add that "feature" to their OS. LOL
     
  14. Mrniceguy

    Mrniceguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    can anyone else confirm this... I will be pissed if i can only have 70 apps
     
  15. kronium

    kronium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    63
    4
    16
    Confirmed. But, thank you thank you thank you for finally pin pointing the problem. I've had this issue forever, and always thought it was a random thing. I'll point HTC to this thread. At least now I know the boundary of the problem. And no, 70 apps is not a lot.
     
  16. ajones7279

    ajones7279 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    Only time I've ever had this problem is when I installed a bunch of apps from the market at once. Rebooted and got all kinds of force closes and no service. Uninstalled the apps, rebooted and it was fine. And this was way before I got to 70. At one point I counted and had 74 and my phone was working fine.
     
  17. veggiess

    veggiess Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    I have tried this too, downloading one at a time and it still does it. Try 76 or more by downloading one at a time, rebooting, etc, and see if it does it. I need to know if my phone is defective.
     
  18. kronium

    kronium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    63
    4
    16
    Yeah, I think he should count and do some reboots. I didn't think I had seventy market apps, but sure enough, it was right around there. Trust me, you don't have a physically defective phone. This is my third Hero, same issue.
     
  19. ajones7279

    ajones7279 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Still service, no force closes.
     
  20. ajones7279

    ajones7279 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    Still having problems after 70?
     
  21. veggiess

    veggiess Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    Thanks for posting that. Did you reboot? I should have been more specific though. The 70 app deal is downloaded ones, not ones native on the phone. Are those 77 ones all downloaded? That is how it works on my phone. No clue how many I have including the native ones, probably lots more.
     
  22. ajones7279

    ajones7279 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    Those are all downloaded. And I rebooted about 3 times.
     
  23. oggg

    oggg Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    just to add evidence to this thread, I had the exact same problem twice.

    The first time, I did a hard reset (after two weeks of use). The second time, when I was about to smash this damn phone against the wall, I found this thread and deleted a couple apps I was not using until I had less than 70. I rebooted the phone and BINGO! it is working again. I think I had around 75 apps when it started to give me problems.

    I rarely reboot my phone, but when I did it, it was gone. It would force close almost everything. After I uninstall a couple of my apps it is back in business.

    I don't know if the problem is Android or Sense, but this limitation is annoying. I don't think that 70 apps is a lot. Also, the 150mb of internal memory is a joke. If I have 16gb of memory in my SD why can't I save my apps and emails to it?? I know, there is a lot of technical explanations behind it...but that is lame anyway.

    I was so happy with Android but now that I have used it for a while I am finding lots of limitations. That is sad... hope Android 2.0 is better....
     
  24. ajones7279

    ajones7279 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    Like I said before, only time I ever had that problem is when I tried installing a bunch of apps at once from the Market. Never happens when I use AppManager though. But I have more than 70 and I'm not having a problem.
     
  25. veggiess

    veggiess Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    Sounds like you are a lucky one. I don't seem to be the only one with this issue. Very strange...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...